Help me Build a Super Low Cost 4TB NAS :)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #1
here's my 6TB NAS build (expandable up to 10 Hard Disk Drives):
................................................................................​

[CPU] AMD Sempron 2.7GHz AM3 45W Single-Core ($37 + $0)
[RAM] Kingston 1GB 240-Pin DDR3 1066Mhz ($13 + $10)
[MOBO] Foxconn M61PMP-K AM3 MicroATX ($47 + $0)
[PSU] CORSAIR CX430 430W ATX12V ($45 + $4 - $20 MIR)
[CASE] Antec VSK-2000 ($44 + $0)
[HDD] 3 x Seagate 2TB 5900 rpm SATAII 32MB ($240 + $0)
[TOTAL] $442 CAD (o.O) !!
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-20 07:14 by eskro.)
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #2
One suggestion before the parts: dual channel RAM is not needed for a NAS. In fact, one stick is better as it uses less power.

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #3
not that im stuck but,
better go with AMD SEMPRON single-core + MOBO? ($84)
or
Going with a cheap mobo/cpu INTEL ATOM dual-core combo? --> http://fwd4.me/u7n ($80 + $5)
??

oops nevermind Tongue
that intel ATOM combo comes on a miniITX form factor and not enough SATA ports....
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-20 00:11 by eskro.)
find quote
maxinc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #4
Think at this stage if you are going to use the NAS for anything other than storage. Like Poofy mentioned, if you plan to do sab, torrents etc you may want a powerful cpu, otherwise, the cheapest you can find.
find quote
bmcclure937 Offline
Fan
Posts: 654
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 5
Location: Ohio
Post: #5
My suggestion in planning... make sure you have an upgrade plan. You want your case to accomodate possible upgrades as well as your mobo. You can always buy a SATA controller if needed, but make sure your mobo also has adequate SATA connections.
find quote
jvdb Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
eskro Wrote:not that im stuck but,
better go with AMD SEMPRON single-core + MOBO? ($84)
or
Going with a cheap mobo/cpu INTEL ATOM dual-core combo? --> http://fwd4.me/u7n ($80 + $5)
??

If you're going for the intel atom board, at least get the new one with the D525:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6813121442

Keep in mind both those boards only have 2 SATA ports, you will need something like this if you want more hard drives:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6816132026

I have been curious about these, but I have no experience with them:

http://www.intel.com/products/server/sto.../index.htm
find quote
maxinc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #7
Never use PCI SATA controllers. PCI has limited bus speed and will make your system dead slow once you connect enough drives. Get something with at least one PCI-E 4x slot which can accommodate an additional 8 SATA ports. PCI-E 1x controllers would only give you 2 extra ports.
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #8
I say AMD. My NASes are Intel, but that is only because they are built out of leftover hackintosh parts.

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #9
That Foxconn has only four sata ports. Try to look for one with six and you will spend less on sata controllers. Look at ATX too, ATX fits in most good NAS cases.

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #10
Ok so, would these 2 be good?

[CPU] AMD Sempron 2.7GHz AM3 45W Single-Core ($37 + $0)
[MOBO] Foxconn M61PMP-K AM3 NVIDIA MicroATX ($47 + $0)

and also, tell me if im right,
that Foxconn mother has 4 sata ports,
so it takes only 4 sata drives correct?
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #11
Look at this mobo:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6813138179

Two more sata and one more PCIe (which can eventually be used for one of those RAID enclosures you started with).

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #12
im confused on all of those PCI ...

PCI Slots
PCI Express x1
PCI Express x16
PCI Express 2.0 x16

what the... ??
find quote
maxinc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #13
On the MB in Poofy's link, the green ones are PCI and are useless.

The orange ones are PCI-E. The small ones are 1x while the large one is 16x

PCI express x16---------------->4000MB/s
PCI express x8 ------->2000MB/s
PCI express x4 ---->1000MB/s
PCI express x2 -->500MB/s
PCI express x1 ->250MB/s
PCI ->133MB/s

PCI is an ancient bus and the 133MB/s is shared by all devices connected to the bus. Modern hard drives can easily top that which makes the PCI bus the bottleneck.
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-20 00:47 by maxinc.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #14
oh i see!!

and what about the --> PCI Express 2.0 x16 ??
find quote
maxinc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #15
As you may guess, has double the bandwidth. Don't really need it for storage but some high-end video cards may use it.
find quote
Post Reply