[AppleTV2] MySQL database / library support?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
hotlobster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Paris FR
Post: #1
Hi

What version of xbmc is used in iphone/ipad ?
I've tryed to use my central mysql database by setting an advancedsettings.xml on the iphone but it doesn't seems to take count of it.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,685
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #2
I believe it should work - check the debug log.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
hotlobster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Paris FR
Post: #3
Where are xbmc logs generated on idevices ? There's no temp folder in xbmc directory.


Thanks.
find quote
ti_gusus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Question  MySql ???
Post: #4
Before buying the ATV2, i would like to get confirmation the functionnality of my SQL server.
Thank !
A+++
find quote
topfs2 Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,962
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation: 9
Post: #5
I think its omitted, to get down dependencies and size. I could be wrong though, and it could be introduced again I would think.

If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]

"Well Im gonna download the code and look at it a bit but I'm certainly not a really good C/C++ programer but I'd help as much as I can, I mostly write in C#."
find quote
rinseaid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
No, it's working fine here.

Using ATV2 with 4.2.1 firmware.

I have in /private/var/mobile/Library/Preferences/XBMC/userdata/advancedsettings.xml:

<advancedsettings>
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>10.11.12.100</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_video</name>
</videodatabase>

<musicdatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>10.11.12.100</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_music</name>
</musicdatabase>
</advancedsettings>

And it's working great!
Thanks Davilla and Team-XBMC!

note: I also set up my library such that the initial commit to the sql database was to an smb:// URL rather than a mounted filesystem, in order to be OS agnostic and also for super easy setup (just add advancedsettings.xml and you're done.)
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-22 21:10 by rinseaid.)
find quote
yozh Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
rinseaid Wrote:No, it's working fine here.

Using ATV2 with 4.2.1 firmware.

I have in /private/var/mobile/Library/Preferences/XBMC/userdata/advancedsettings.xml:

<advancedsettings>
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>10.11.12.100</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_video</name>
</videodatabase>

<musicdatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>10.11.12.100</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_music</name>
</musicdatabase>
</advancedsettings>

And it's working great!
Thanks Davilla and Team-XBMC!

note: I also set up my library such that the initial commit to the sql database was to an smb:// URL rather than a mounted filesystem, in order to be OS agnostic and also for super easy setup (just add advancedsettings.xml and you're done.)


Yeah works here as well. Just an issue with resume, but I think its with local DB as well, nothing seems to want to resume.....
find quote
ti_gusus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
This is good news...
Anyone using shortcut for remote Thumbnails ?
find quote
gerner Offline
Donor
Posts: 164
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: NZ
Post: #9
ti_gusus Wrote:This is good news...
Anyone using shortcut for remote Thumbnails ?

Would appreciate it if anyone can share how to do this on iPad.
find quote
ti_gusus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Anyone using shortcut for remote Thumbnails ?
Should we do it the same way we do in Linux ?

I gonna buy a unit tomorrow and have some fun with it ;-)
Always good to play with new stuff...

EekEek



Asrock ION 330BD - 4GB Ram - WD SSD 64GB
XBMC Dharma - Dual Boot - W7 Ultimate x64 / LiveCD
QNAP NAS Storage TS-639 - MySQL Server - 2Gbps Trunk
HP ProCurve 1810G - 1Gbps fully wired network
(This post was last modified: 2011-01-23 21:43 by ti_gusus.)
find quote
Ogi010 Offline
Donor
Posts: 79
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #11
rinseaid Wrote:No, it's working fine here.

Using ATV2 with 4.2.1 firmware.

I have in /private/var/mobile/Library/Preferences/XBMC/userdata/advancedsettings.xml:

<advancedsettings>
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>10.11.12.100</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_video</name>
</videodatabase>

<musicdatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>10.11.12.100</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_music</name>
</musicdatabase>
</advancedsettings>

And it's working great!
Thanks Davilla and Team-XBMC!

note: I also set up my library such that the initial commit to the sql database was to an smb:// URL rather than a mounted filesystem, in order to be OS agnostic and also for super easy setup (just add advancedsettings.xml and you're done.)

Can you please elaborate on the bold part please?

Did you mean when adding videos to the library you added them through the SMB share?
find quote
johoja Offline
Fan
Posts: 567
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Ogi010 Wrote:Can you please elaborate on the bold part please?

Did you mean when adding videos to the library you added them through the SMB share?

The paths to the files in the mysql db are shared across the systems since they share the same db. So having a path point to D:\movies\movie.mkv is not going to work on different pc since it doesn't have D:\

Hence use a source which is shared i.e) samaba share smb://pc/share/movie.mkv
find quote
Ogi010 Offline
Donor
Posts: 79
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #13
johoja Wrote:The paths to the files in the mysql db are shared across the systems since they share the same db. So having a path point to D:\movies\movie.mkv is not going to work on different pc since it doesn't have D:\

Hence use a source which is shared i.e) samaba share smb://pc/share/movie.mkv

Cool, just double checking. I am having some database issues (mostly linux issues), I'm trying to setup an openelec.tv box alongside an appleTV2 box next to each other and see which one performs better Big Grin

Ogi
find quote
hotlobster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Paris FR
Post: #14
Ok I've figured out why it didn't work when i tryed. My SQL lib was the latest pvr git, so it wasn't compatible with iphone xmbc version. I've falled it back to Dharma and now it works ok.

Cheers.
find quote
ti_gusus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
What about remote Thumbnails Confused
What is the right way to create shortcut Confused



Asrock ION 330BD - 4GB Ram - WD SSD 64GB
XBMC Dharma - Dual Boot - W7 Ultimate x64 / LiveCD
QNAP NAS Storage TS-639 - MySQL Server - 2Gbps Trunk
HP ProCurve 1810G - 1Gbps fully wired network
find quote
Post Reply