[AppleTV2] Setting the Time?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pmcd Offline
Fan
Posts: 312
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hmm ... am I missing where to set the time zone, or is it just not there? Got to say that for a few hours XBMC has been streaming 720p stuff with no buffering, no stuttering and great picture. The GUI is a bit sluggish but perhaps it's because it seems to be in windowed mode.

philip
find quote
valkur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #2
Set to PST by default, this worked for me, obviously change Canada/Mountain to whatever you need.

SSH into ATV2

cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Canada/Mountain localtime
killall AppleTV
find quote
badjase Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
valkur Wrote:Set to PST by default, this worked for me, obviously change Canada/Mountain to whatever you need.

SSH into ATV2

cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Canada/Mountain localtime
killall AppleTV

Any Chance you could post the settings to display correct clock time for United Kingdom please??
find quote
deano72 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/GMT localtime
find quote
lugee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  timezone changed
Post: #5
valkur Wrote:Set to PST by default, this worked for me, obviously change Canada/Mountain to whatever you need.

SSH into ATV2

cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Canada/Mountain localtime
killall AppleTV


great! thanx a lot!
find quote
badjase Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
deano72 Wrote:ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/GMT localtime



thanks for that
find quote
reggiesfriend Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I was looking for the file for Central Time (i live in Chicago)

also (noob alert) I'm using cyberduck... am i just overwriting the "/private/var/db/timezone" file with this new file that i get from "/usr/share/zoneinfo/" ?

thanks in advance !! Big Grin
find quote
deano72 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Reggie, no
log into via terminal (i guess you have a mac, since you are using cyberduck?)
and type
cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/**Canada/Mountain** localtime
killall AppleTV

where **Canada/Mountain** replace with
America/Chicago
so

this is your method....

cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/**America/Chicago** localtime
killall AppleTV
find quote
kreuze Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Whats the code for Melbourne Australia?
find quote
deano72 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
google is your friend ;-)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_tz_...time_zones
find quote
reggiesfriend Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
deano72 Wrote:Reggie, no
log into via terminal (i guess you have a mac, since you are using cyberduck?)
and type
cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/**Canada/Mountain** localtime
killall AppleTV

where **Canada/Mountain** replace with
America/Chicago
so

this is your method....

cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/**America/Chicago** localtime
killall AppleTV



worked like a charm!!!

i've updated the timezone, enabled AC3 and DTS output (which also helps it run smoother) anyone got any other suggestions on how to tweak the atv2?

(i'm loving this forum)
find quote
porkozone Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
deano72 Wrote:Reggie, no
log into via terminal (i guess you have a mac, since you are using cyberduck?)
and type
cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/**Canada/Mountain** localtime
killall AppleTV

where **Canada/Mountain** replace with
America/Chicago
so

this is your method....

cd /private/var/db/timezone
rm localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/**America/Chicago** localtime
killall AppleTV

So what is it that is going on here? Does the stock AppleTV software not use the time for anything? I took a look and didn't see it. So are they all just factory set to the same time zone and we are just having to manually set it in order for XBMC to use the correct time?
find quote
four_seven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Cheers for the instructions, none of the apple OS stuff needs a timezone, I believe they're all set to PST as standard.
find quote
WiteWulf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Well, I just changed the localtime symlink to GB and it's working fine for me now.

However, I'd like to challenge the comments made that the time and timezone doesn't matter. If you boot up an ATV2 with a network connection but no Internet connection and it can't ntp sync to time.apple.com it refuses to boot. The device even runs it's own ntpd to constantly stay in sync. It may not care what the local time is but it certainly cares about what time it is in PST. This leads me to believe that the time IS important to it and I'm guessing it has a lot to do with movie rentals from iTunes. Not sure how this would impact the running of the rest of the system but there could be unforeseen side effects to this...
find quote
Mr Zippy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
WiteWulf Wrote:Well, I just changed the localtime symlink to GB and it's working fine for me now.

However, I'd like to challenge the comments made that the time and timezone doesn't matter. If you boot up an ATV2 with a network connection but no Internet connection and it can't ntp sync to time.apple.com it refuses to boot. The device even runs it's own ntpd to constantly stay in sync. It may not care what the local time is but it certainly cares about what time it is in PST. This leads me to believe that the time IS important to it and I'm guessing it has a lot to do with movie rentals from iTunes. Not sure how this would impact the running of the rest of the system but there could be unforeseen side effects to this...

Very good point, although I imagine rentals are 24 hours based on local machine time - but they might not be!

Maybe this should be a setting inside XBMC for the ATV2.
find quote
Post Reply