Linux - HOW-TO watch Live TV in XBMC for Linux with Tvheadend, the easy way!

  Thread Rating:
  • 16 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jpreville Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Michigan, USA
Post: #946
Does the latest release support recording from the frontend? been trying to record a show off the EPG menu. But it gives me an error. and says to check the log.. where would i locate the log?
find quote
TK4|2|1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #947
(2012-04-19 01:08)jpreville Wrote:  Does the latest release support recording from the frontend? been trying to record a show off the EPG menu. But it gives me an error. and says to check the log.. where would i locate the log?

Same here.
find quote
robo989 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 4
Post: #948
Pretty certain that's a no, nothing has been announced at least and it doesn't work for me, like it never did.

Have my own question, have a weird problem with tvheadend where the initial scan will always hang at 2 muxes remaining to scan. I check the muxes tab and these 2 pesky muxes are both 99,999,990Khz, so are obviously invalid. If I delete the muxes along with unticking "idle scanning" and "autodetect muxes". I can get it to complete to map the services to channels.

The problem is this happens every time a reboot of the box happens so is a right pain in the arse, does anyone know if this is a driver problem with my card, a TBS 6981 or a tvheadend problem? tvheadend is a bug ridden mess although fantastic at the same time Smile. Have tried the version here, the latest pulse6 version and also the latest git version all with same results.

One more question...

How would I make the git version auto start with every boot? It doesn't seem to be listed as a service like the pulse version?

Thanks.
find quote
bas.t Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Baflo, The Netherlands
Post: #949
(2012-04-19 01:08)jpreville Wrote:  Does the latest release support recording from the frontend? been trying to record a show off the EPG menu. But it gives me an error. and says to check the log.. where would i locate the log?

I allways schedule recordings from the epg, no problem here.
Your log is in ~/.xbmc/temp/xbmc.log

(2012-04-19 23:57)robo989 Wrote:  How would I make the git version auto start with every boot? It doesn't seem to be listed as a service like the pulse version?

You could take a look at the bottom half of this post.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-20 08:54 by bas.t.)
find quote
robo989 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 4
Post: #950
Thanks for that mate, haven't followed it yet but looks simple enough. Much appreciated.

In relation to recording from EPG, you are referring to the EPG in the web gui yes? I think the person you quoted is referring to from within XBMC. I could be wrong though and maybe recording is working in XBMC, could you confirm, thank you.
find quote
Ruud Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #951
Hi, just to confirm: recording from the xbmc epg / tvguide works

TV server: ClearOS 5.2, HTS Tvheadend git-0664329, IPTV
XBMC Clients (2): Jetway J7F3E Mini-ITX, AMD Geode NX1750, 1GB, Custom Build Case, 2,5" SATA 120GB, GeForce 8500GT (PCI) 256MB, NEC Slot-in DVD, 7" touch screen, 40" Samsung LED (VGA), ATI Remote Wonder (I)
(OS) Environment Clients: Ubuntu Server 10.04, XBMC 11.0 BETA 3, TVHeadend plugin enabled, Skin Confluenza
find quote
bas.t Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Baflo, The Netherlands
Post: #952
(2012-04-21 01:52)robo989 Wrote:  Thanks for that mate, haven't followed it yet but looks simple enough. Much appreciated.

In relation to recording from EPG, you are referring to the EPG in the web gui yes? I think the person you quoted is referring to from within XBMC. I could be wrong though and maybe recording is working in XBMC, could you confirm, thank you.

You are wrong, I am referring to the epg from within xbmc. Works like a charm and is indeed the one and only reason why I use xbmc (beats MythTV too!). That is, until timeshift is inplemented and stable. That'll take at least two more years, I think...
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-21 22:50 by bas.t.)
find quote
robo989 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 4
Post: #953
Didn't know about that, thanks both of you.
find quote
simonind Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #954
I'm getting the "PVR backend error check log" message when I try an schedule recordings from the XBMC EPG. The TVHeadend Web interface is fine so I'm using that but XBMC would be better. I'm running Windows builds of XBMC Eden PVR and TVHeadend on a Ubuntu box.The logs I've checked don't give me any clues and I'm using the same user account for both Web and XBMC access

Any advice appreciated?

Thanks
Simon
find quote
ZyanKLee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #955
(2012-04-24 10:41)simonind Wrote:  I'm getting the "PVR backend error check log" message when I try an schedule recordings from the XBMC EPG.
...

Any advice appreciated

My advice: Check the logfile of tvheadend
find quote
simonind Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #956
(2012-04-24 11:00)ZyanKLee Wrote:  
(2012-04-24 10:41)simonind Wrote:  I'm getting the "PVR backend error check log" message when I try an schedule recordings from the XBMC EPG.
...

Any advice appreciated

My advice: Check the logfile of tvheadend
I've had the web interface open to monitor the log but nothing gets output - is there a logging level I can set/increase or another log I should be looking at?
find quote
oneadvent Offline
Fan
Posts: 404
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #957
Can you watch live TV though?
find quote
simonind Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #958
Yes, Live is fine, Recordings are also fine as long as they only contain alpha-numeric characters in the title - these I have to play as files through the 'Videos' menu in XBMC.

Should I have a second user in TVHeadend for XBMC rather than using the 'super user' account? That was the next thing I was going to try.
find quote
simonind Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #959
This is what I see in the XBMC log (Windows XP):
PVRClient - PVR::CPVRClient::AddTimer - addon 'HTS Tvheadend:192.168.0.19:9982' returned an error: server error

There is nothing in the syslog on the Ubuntu box

Opening up the permissions doesn't seem to make any difference.

Any ideas would be appreciated?
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-26 13:25 by simonind.)
find quote
mangaga Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #960
I am getting the same error as simonind.

I have tvheadend on ubuntu (using hdhomerun).

I can schedule recordings via tvheadend web GUI AND even via the iPhone App - BUT, not via XBMC !!

"Record" button gives the error AND, scheduling a new timer via the EPG also gives the error.

I have tried the the following XBMC installs - ALL have the same error:
1) http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg...build.html
2) http://packages.pulse-eight.net/windows/...n-11.3.exe
3) http://packages.pulse-eight.net/ubuntu

The following work OK in these XBMC installs:
- watch recordings (recorded by tvheadend)
- other PVR functions - such as EPG

The error pops up instantaneously - my guess is that XBMC does not even try to communicate with tvheadend - there is certainly nothing in the tvheadend logs indicating a schedule was attempted.

I would love to get this XBMC PVR stuff working !! (my wife is certainly losing confidence in my HTPC !!).
find quote
Post Reply