[AppleTV2] HOW-TO to enable AC3 and DTS output for Apple TV 2

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bruienne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  [AppleTV2] HOW-TO to enable AC3 and DTS output for Apple TV 2
Post: #1
Just tinkered around a bit in /var/mobile/Library/Preferences/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml and flipped these two on, hoping it'd work, and it did:

In the <audiooutput> section, change "false" to "true" on the following entries:

<ac3passthrough>false</ac3passthrough>
<dtspassthrough>false</dtspassthrough>

I am now getting AC3 passed through from the SPDIF out to my 7.1 receiver. Overall video playback is also a lot smoother now that it's not downmixing to 2.0 audio it seems.

HTH.
find quote
bruienne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
DTS passthrough works too, just to close the loop on that one. I am happy with the results of this simple tweak.

HTH.
find quote
Halopend Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Well that's magical, I'm pretty sure I read a post by someone responsible for porting xbmc to ios that it didn't work and the reason turns out to be a malformed preference file? Sweet.
find quote
bruienne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I actually also flipped on the AAC passthrough since the ATV2 hardware seems to support some/all of the codec; leafing through my video library for some AAC-encoded stuff right now.
find quote
rflores2323 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,920
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #5
what about thru hdmi?

ATV1 with crystalbuntu (12.2 frodo) as main theater. Theater remote URC MX-810, droidx with xbmc remote, or transformer tf101 with YATSE. 3 x ATV2 (V12.2 frodo).

find quote
bruienne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I don't have an HDMI-capable receiver or plasma, running it HDMI to DVI-D and using the SPDIF to go to the receiver. Others may be able to confirm whether HDMI also passes the multichannel streams.

HTH.
find quote
SkuiD87 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Excellent find!

I have a slightly unrelated question.

Is there anything in the settings that can be tweaked to fix the downmixing problem? My entire library is in 5.1 and the Apple TV is for the secondary TV in the house. Dont really want a surround sound system in there so I depend upon downmixing for this to me useful.

Would really appreciate the help.

Thanks!
find quote
Rauf27 Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Just checked it. Works!
Thank you!
find quote
johoja Offline
Fan
Posts: 567
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Rauf27 Wrote:Just checked it. Works!
Thank you!

Works for hdmi too?
find quote
Rauf27 Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
johoja Wrote:Works for hdmi too?

My atv connected to home theater by optical audio cable.
During video playback i checked audio output - optical/coax and hdmi.
Same result for each selection. Full 5.1 sound.
find quote
bruienne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
FWIW, and somewhat as expected turning on AAC passthrough results in no sound. However, turning AAC passthrough off but leaving AC3 and DTS passthrough on results in multichannel AAC also being output. My receiver picked it up as DD5.1, XBMC Audio settings labeled it Unknown 5.1 surround. Good enough for me, just about all my content plays in multichannel now.
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #12
We see everything Smile

https://github.com/xbmc/atv2/commit/e42e...41e7669697

It was hidden to keep the testing matrix small for the first release.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
Majestic Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
For me the setting doesnt work. I got no sound with this on true. HDMI or optical. Any suggestions?
find quote
ashlar Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,110
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 27
Post: #14
davilla Wrote:We see everything Smile

https://github.com/xbmc/atv2/commit/e42e...41e7669697

It was hidden to keep the testing matrix small for the first release.
Other than a genius, Davilla, you are seriously evil too! Big Grin

For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
oksehud Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
bruienne Wrote:Just tinkered around a bit in /var/mobile/Library/Preferences/XBMC/userdata/guisettings.xml and flipped these two on, hoping it'd work, and it did:

In the <audiooutput> section, change "false" to "true" on the following entries:

<ac3passthrough>false</ac3passthrough>
<dtspassthrough>false</dtspassthrough>

I am now getting AC3 passed through from the SPDIF out to my 7.1 receiver. Overall video playback is also a lot smoother now that it's not downmixing to 2.0 audio it seems.

HTH.

I would like to try that, but I'm a total noob....
I can ssh into the XBMC directory, but I don't know how to edit the guisettings.xml file.

I know, I have to use an xml editor, and have found several free editors on the net, but how do I actually open, edit and replace the xml file?
Can it be done in terminal, or do I have to copy the xml file to another location, open it in the editor, and copy it back to the atv2 Confused

Sorry for the apparently stupid questions, but this is my first time at this..
Any help is appreciated..
find quote
Post Reply