"Preferred" / "Future Proof" Video Format for DVD rips?
Question 
Hi,

I'm just getting started with XBMC, and wanted to ask what people consider the "best" / "preferred" / "future proof" video format is when ripping your own DVDs (movies / TV shows):
1). Xvid
2). Divx
3). MPEG4
4). AVCHD
5). MPEG
6). M2TS

I'm looking for what format will give me the "best" / "least lossy" videos for playing on my 1080p TV.

TIA,

RocketDude
separate 3 things:

Codec for video (mpeg2, h264)
Codec for audio (AC3, DTS, MP2, MP3)
Container (mkv, mov, avi)

considerations:
Keep subtitels?
Storage space ?
Quality?
Menu's ?
Multiple audio or video tracks?
1 file (ISO) or separate files
etc..

DVD is not the best source material. So before ripping all your DVD's consider this. How much time do you have to spent for DVD quality. Or go on a bargain hunt so search for Blu-ray versions of your movies and TV series
MBP late 2009 - TimeCapsule 2TB - Harmony One+ - Readynas NV+ 8TB RAID5 - Mac Mini late 2009 with 10.9.0 and VDA - Panasonic TX-PG420ES -
idioteque,

Let me take the easy part first:
Keep subtitels: No
Storage space: Not an issue
Quality: The best I can get from a ripped DVD
Menu's: Don't care
Multiple audio or video tracks: No -- just the main video + English Audio track
1 file (ISO) or separate files: 1 file per movie / TV episode

At this point, I have a bunch of material on DVD (movies, TV shows, Tour de France videos, etc.) that I don't want to repurchase. So while Blue-ray might be the best source material going forward, right now I'm just trying to deal with the legacy video I already own.

So suggestions for:
Codec for video (mpeg2, h264)
Codec for audio (AC3, DTS, MP2, MP3)
Container (mkv, mov, avi)

XBMC System:
Zotac HD-ID40
4GB RAM
40GB OCZ Vertex2
XBMC 10.0 on top of Windows 7 x64

TIA,

RocketDude