NAS help
Hi, I'm running xbmc on the atv2 and looking to get a NAS for storage. I've never used a NAS before so could do with a bit of help.

Is there any reason why this one wouldn't work? http://www.amazon.co.uk/QNAP-TS-210-Turb...d_sxp_f_pt

Would it just work as a normal SMB share or would I need to do something else?

Any help appreciated. Thanks.
It will work. You can run it as a SMB share or access it via DLNA or FTP or...

Don't forget to put two HDD in itWink
Thanks very much. Yes I will be getting 2 x 1tb drives to go in it.

Actually I have a couple of other questions while I'm here...

Will the NAS show as one source on the network? I.e. 2 x 1tb drives will show as one network location?

Will I be able to run a scraping program (eg Ember) on it?

Can I install other windows programs (eg Airvideo Server) on it?

Thanks again. Sorry for the newbie questions.
Hi Nibbsy,

I use the QNAP TS-209 Pro II Turbo NAS. It's not a current model, but it's in the line of what you are thinking of.

Conclusion - GREAT, been running in for ~ 2 years as a media and download station.

I have XBMC on 3 x XBOX1's and 1 x ATV2 and can watch different films in multiple rooms simultaneously. Most are connected on AV Homeplugs (XBOX1's don't have wifi).

One suggestion would be to go for bigger HD's. I have 2 x 1.5 TB in a RAID1 Mirror, but they soon get full depending on how much backing up you do. For the extra it's far cheaper to go for the bigger disks now rather than replace them later. have a look through HOTUKDEALS. I just checked quickly and you can get - 'Samsung F4 2TB 3.5" Hard Drive @ eBuyer £61.94 Delivered.' each. 2TB is the max size per drive in your suggested TS-210.

Any questions or clarifications, PM me.

Regards
______________________________________________________________________________________________
ATV2 4.2.1 - XBOX1's x 3 - HomePlugs x many - QNAP 209II Pro NAS - 120" Sony Projector
I personally own 2 QNAP's and love them. Best NAS on the market.