Opinions on this build, please...
I've been running XBMC on my $1000 laptop for a few months now and it feels like a real waste of equipment, so I'm looking to sell the laptop, buy an ultraportable laptop that I'll actually use AS a laptop, and build a HTPC.

The build below is what I've come up with so far. My goals are:
1. Small, quiet
2. Fast enough that I won't hit any ceiling anytime soon
3. Attractive, matches other A/V equipment in style (minimalist) /color (black)
4. As cheap as possible given the above requirements

I don't need blu-ray (have a PS3), and I don't need a gaming video card. Since I'm primarily using external storage and NAS for my content I don't need a huge HDD, but I feel like SSDs are still too expensive for the performance boost / added quietness.

Case/PSU: Silverstone SG06B Mini ITX Case w/ 300W PSU
Mobo: Zotac 880GITX-A-E Mini ITX AM3 Mobo w/ wifi, USB3.0, HD4250 onboard gpu
CPU: AMD Phenom II 555 BE 3.2GHz
Optical: Samsung Slim SATA DVD±RW
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200rpm HDD
RAM: GeIL 4gb PC8500 DDR3
Etc: AZiO USB Bluetooth Adapter

Grand total: $456.26 shipped

Thoughts?
I like the general build idea. For a $450 budget you can afford many different options. Big Grin

Take a look at my build thread and the components I used. I was able to build everything (after a couple rebates) for $370. This did not include the price of a hard drive... but I am using a 160Gb 2.5" laptop HDD which has been working great for me.

It looks like you are taking the MiniITX route... is there any reason for this besides a smaller form-factor case?! If you would ditch the MiniITX then you could go a slightly different route (MicroATX) and spend less $$ for a more capable system.