XBMC on ATV2 using NitoTv and greenpoison

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
travisjacques Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hey guys, first post here. I was able to jailbreak using Greenpoison and i have the nitotv installed. Now i am trying to install XBMC through Nitotv however when i select it it says that the package could not be found. Has anyone found a fix for this? Any help would be extremely appreciated. Thanks guys.
find quote
baljot187 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I had to SSH it to get it working
find quote
travisjacques Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
is there a step by step guide as to how to do this? do i plug in via mini usb again or can you do ssh over wifi?
find quote
Dumb ? Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
The RC6 version (untetthered) is available today (2/13). Once I was able to jailbreak my ATV2, I went into the NitoTV settings and installed XBMC from the options there. Work great for me.Big Grin
find quote
travisjacques Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
thanks for letting me know that it works great for you. it has not worked for me. i have tried installing from nito and through ssh and each say couldnt find package org.xbmc.xbmc-atv2
find quote
marazi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Follow the instructions here:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Ins...MC_on_ATV2
find quote
Dumb ? Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
It took me a couple of tries myself. I actually kept doing it until it worked.
find quote
oskar132 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
does any1 have a step by step guide to ssh through the apple tv? i've tried using putty and winscp and both say the "alpine" password is not correct, winscp asks me for a username which i dont know and putty asks me for a username i enter alpine and when im about to enter the password it wont let me type anything...
as if that wasnt enough, i trie to install it usin nitotv, it installs it boots itself and nothing appears on the main menu... and if i boot it by pressing menu and play/pause at the same time and once it boots it cant connect or identify any wi fi network anymore no matter what i do... i've been trying to get xbmc installed all the afternoon and i still cant.
its the first time something like this happens to me i hope some1 can help me
thx in advance!
find quote
dtviewer Offline
Fan
Posts: 664
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #9
oskar132 Wrote:does any1 have a step by step guide to ssh through the apple tv? i've tried using putty and winscp and both say the "alpine" password is not correct, winscp asks me for a username which i dont know and putty asks me for a username i enter alpine and when im about to enter the password it wont let me type anything...
as if that wasnt enough, i trie to install it usin nitotv, it installs it boots itself and nothing appears on the main menu... and if i boot it by pressing menu and play/pause at the same time and once it boots it cant connect or identify any wi fi network anymore no matter what i do... i've been trying to get xbmc installed all the afternoon and i still cant.
its the first time something like this happens to me i hope some1 can help me
thx in advance!

for username type 'root' without the quotations
for password 'alpine' without the quotations
find quote
oskar132 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
i belive u're an awesome person
thank u so much! now ill see if i can install it via ssh
thx again
find quote
oskar132 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
now as soon as i enter the apt-get install org.xbmc.xbmc-atv2 command
it starts to download somecontent and stops responding... i booted it and guess what no more wi fi connection... i think ill un jailbreak my appl tv and keep with rendering my movies...
thx anyway for ur help
find quote
juliofoz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I'm also having the same problem. If ATV2 reboots, it comes back with no wifi.
I had to restore it and jailbreak again and now avoiding to reboot it...

Another problem: NitoTV already installed doesn't have a custom settings option in the main settings menu.

Any ideas?
find quote
dallasnights Offline
Fan
Posts: 486
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
The wifi is a known issue, dev working on it, you just have restart lowtide in most cases, the issue I have is I installed Groovy which is a grooveshark player, and its does not show up in the menus at all even tho its installed

Has anyone found a fix for this?
find quote
oskar132 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
what do u mean by lowtide?
find quote
dtviewer Offline
Fan
Posts: 664
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #15
juliofoz Wrote:I'm also having the same problem. If ATV2 reboots, it comes back with no wifi.I had to restore it and jailbreak again and now avoiding to reboot it...

Another problem: NitoTV already installed doesn't have a custom settings option in the main settings menu.

Any ideas?

Originally Posted by davilla
ssh in:

Type apt-get update

Type apt-get remove com.nito.nitotv

Type apt-get install com.nito.nitotv

Type killall AppleTV


This should fix your wifi issue.
find quote
Post Reply