Your Very First HTPC? But Where do You Start?

  Thread Rating:
  • 34 Votes - 4.47 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Superorb Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
tigris Wrote:Thanks for the info! I was thinking of running some games on it. Smile
What games were you thinking of running? My setup might be able to run an SNES/Sega emulator, but anything N64 or up it won't do. When I replace this system I'm going with an ION setup, probably Atom or a cheapy Celeron.
find quote
Paulkai Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 292
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
I have come across this case, I like the look of, what hardware spec would you suggest will be used for xbmc to play movies including 1080p
WESENA MINI ITX7- 2 CASE
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #33
Paulkai Wrote:what hardware spec would you suggest will be used for xbmc to play movies including 1080p

check links in my signature
find quote
Matt1701D Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
eskro, I am building one from scratch and have read a ton on the forum to determine the best HTPC setup. My plan was the following, can you comment on your thoughts and how this system compares to the ones you recommended, particularly playing full 1080P, bitstream audio to A/V receiver, and streaming netflix HD:

HTPC: Zotac ZBOX ZBOXHD-ND22-U Intel dual core CULV SU2300 NVIDIA ION graphics processor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856173012

Memory: Mushkin Enhanced Essentials 4GB (2 x 2GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6820226019

SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTX40G 2.5" 40GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6820227610

OS: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #35
@Matt1701D
everything good except the bitstream part...
That ZOTAC cant do that....
find quote
bmcclure937 Offline
Fan
Posts: 654
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 5
Location: Ohio
Post: #36
Honestly, my next build I am going to get a $200 nettop (ION2). My GT430 is great for the home theater... and is great for future-proof. But I am going to run OpenELEC on a nettop for my second room/bedroom/kitchen.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #37
-nm- delete plz Tongue
find quote
Superorb Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
eskro Wrote:-nm- delete plz Tongue
I see what you did there Wink
find quote
Hammi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
eskro Wrote:[Mini-ITX] Atom 2x1.6Ghz + ION1 ($186)
[...]
Q. Which one of these can I use with XBMC Live (Linux)?
A. All of them but i don't recommend the $183 Zacate Mini-ITX build for now!!

There is a number of threads on the forum from people having issues with XBMC under Linux and ION chipset (e.g. here, here, here, and here), me being one of them.

I know that lots of people here don't have issues with ION and Dharma, so it's surely still worth recommending this setup. But maybe a disclaimer would be worthwhile.

Anyhow, I'm fed up with the hours I invested into reinstalling and tweaking the system over the last 2 months, without being able to resolve this. So I'm ready to try different hardware now. I want to stay away from Atom and ION this time and rather go with a low heat CPU (far more powerful than Atom) and a GT 220 (no GT 210 here available anymore) gfx card.

I'm thinking about an energy efficient AMD (X2 250e) or the pricier i3-2100T, both with 45W TDP... Probably rather the latter because of the additional capacity to be on the safe side (I want to de-interlace 1080i, maybe play some streaming movies...), even if I'll have to wait some more weeks before there will be ok Sandy Bridge mobos.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-03 22:27 by Hammi.)
find quote
Superorb Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
^^ What about a Sempron 140? Low power, and it's more powerful than an Atom chip. Plus, you can unlock the 2nd core if you need the extra juice.
find quote
Hammi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
Not sure that's powerful enough. I currently have a 330 (2x 1.6 Ghz Atom), scoring 633 at Passmark. The Sempron 140 has 768. So the difference appears pretty low, the only advantage I'd have would be from the GT 220...

And the TDP of the Sempron 140 is identical to that of the X2 240e (scoring 1615) and the i3 2100T (scoring 2750).
find quote
Superorb Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
Hammi Wrote:Not sure that's powerful enough. I currently have a 330 (2x 1.6 Ghz Atom), scoring 633 at Passmark. The Sempron 140 has 768. So the difference appears pretty low, the only advantage I'd have would be from the GT 220...

And the TDP of the Sempron 140 is identical to that of the X2 240e (scoring 1615) and the i3 2100T (scoring 2750).
Like I said, you can easily unlock the 2nd core for free, many AMD boards support core unlocking. An i3 is also 3 times the price of the Sempron 140.
find quote
nirvana252 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
I purchased THIS

eskro, I am building one from scratch and have read a ton on the forum to determine the best HTPC setup. My plan was the following, can you comment on your thoughts and how this system compares to the ones you recommended, particularly playing full 1080P, bitstream audio to A/V receiver, and streaming netflix HD:

HTPC: Zotac ZBOX ZBOXHD-ND22-U Intel dual core CULV SU2300 NVIDIA ION graphics processor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856173012

Memory: Mushkin Enhanced Essentials 4GB (2 x 2GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226019

SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTX40G 2.5" 40GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227610

OS: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit



_____________________________________________


It is having issues with 1080p =( laggy

Planet Earth Source Blue Ray 85 gig total split up into episodes around 8 gig each

Using VLC player

Works fine on my desktop with better specs.... Gonna play around with drivers really hope i didn't waste my money.......
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #44
nirvana252, perfect! your build should eat 1080P for breakfast Smile
you could even drop to 2x1GB or ram!
find quote
nirvana252 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
This setup is not eating 1080 for breakfast.........

Windows 7 64 bit updated to service pack 1
drivers all updated
files on a usb 2.0 tb drive .... like i said when hooked to my nice laptop play fine
Using a DVI cable and audio port on the front to play video
Playing with latest version of VLC
processor seems to weak getting a 3.8 rating in windows


does this need to be over clocked to get flawless 1080p playback

glitch and audio syncs tried with 6 different files


TXT with files....
SouRCe : Blu-Ray VC-1 ReSoLuTioN : 1920x1080 FRaMeRaTe : 23.976 FPS

| LaNGuaGe ......... Dutch
| SouRCe ........... Blu-Ray
| CoDeC ............ DTS 5.1 1.5 mbps
|
| LaNGuaGe ......... English
| SouRCe ........... Blu-Ray
| CoDeC ............ AC3 5.1 640 kbps
|

SuBTiTLes : Dutch
FoRMaT : SRT

+--------------------------------------------------------------+
|
| CoNTaiNer : MKV
find quote
Post Reply