Option to not use fanart

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
yabbah Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #1
Hi, have I missed something or is there an option to totally remove fanarts in every view?
find quote
mwkurt Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,064
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 10
Post: #2
Hello,

You may be able to remove the settings for fanart in advancedsettings.xml. I don't know if setting fanart.jpg to removed status will keep XBMC from looking for it. But you could try.

<fanart>

A list of additional files to try when searching for fanart images. (The defaults are fanart.jpg and fanart.png which can be removed.)

<fanart>
<remove>fanart.jpg</remove>
<add>backdrop.jpg</add>
</fanart>


Mark
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 9,097
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #3
yabbah Wrote:Hi, have I missed something or is there an option to totally remove fanarts in every view?

nope.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-XBMC members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
YodaEXE Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I'm curious. The main point of Transparency! is to show off the fanart. Why would you use this skin, but remove the fanart?
find quote
yabbah Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #5
I wanted it optional, as my wife complain about browsing is too slow. Smile

Just to shout her mouth .. hehe. Wink
find quote
YodaEXE Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
yabbah Wrote:I wanted it optional, as my wife complain about browsing is too slow. Smile

Just to shout her mouth .. hehe. Wink

Then you should probably switch to a different skin, like Confluence.

Also, I don't know what sort of machine you're running XBMC on, but I'd say you've got a problem with it if the browsing is slow. I'm running it off an Intel Atom, ION-based box, and my browsing is lightning fast. There's no reason for it to be slow.
find quote
yabbah Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #7
YodaEXE Wrote:Then you should probably switch to a different skin, like Confluence.

Also, I don't know what sort of machine you're running XBMC on, but I'd say you've got a problem with it if the browsing is slow. I'm running it off an Intel Atom, ION-based box, and my browsing is lightning fast. There's no reason for it to be slow.

I'm running on a mac mini 2010, so it should be lightning fast too, but dunno why. Its not super slow, but just that little to make a wife unhappy. You know how it is right? Wink
find quote
Amra Offline
Cimmerian
Posts: 466
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 11
Location: Metropolis
Post: #8
yabbah Wrote:I wanted it optional, as my wife complain about browsing is too slow. Smile

Just to shout her mouth .. hehe. Wink
Have you tried the DDS option in XBMC's advancedsettings?

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Adv...sfanart.3E
find quote
yabbah Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #9
Amra Wrote:Have you tried the DDS option in XBMC's advancedsettings?

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Adv...sfanart.3E

Oh cool, I hade completely missed that. I will try it out. Smile
find quote
PatK Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,309
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Canada
Star   
Post: #10
I doubt this would help you out as stuttering with a standard set-up is already an issue.

A side note to this subject; using SVN and the setting 'use visualization background' I replaced the fan art with the Milkdrop visualization (if it's one of the others... then the background shows through) in the TV area as long as there was music playing (TV tunes).

Anyone know if Milkdrop can have a transparent layer?
find quote
YodaEXE Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
PatK Wrote:Anyone know if Milkdrop can have a transparent layer?

It's been a fair while since I've done anything with Milkdrop, but from I remember it cannot, sorry.
find quote