XBMC problems: external HD decoder
Hi all,

As I am really new to XBMC, but really impressed of its possibilities I'm definitely saying goodbye to Windows MCE and switch to XBMC for Windows.

BUT:
I set up everythign and was really happy that XBMC recognizes automatically the installed Broadcom HD hardware decoder but if I want to play 720 or 1080 videos I just hear the sound for about one minute and then it hangs compeletely. (maybe a problem with layers? happens with three different skins)

Hardware config:
ZBOX BluRay MicroPC with ION2
Windows 7 64bit
4G RAM
Boradcom HD decoder (miniPCIe)

DVD, DivX and Xvid is playing without a problem.

in addition I have the additional minor questions:
- which skin is preferable for viewing movies (so that I can see trailers, detailed movie info, aso)?
- what do I have to set to control XBMC with a MCE remote without unwanted jumps and strange behaviour?

I very appreciate your help and thanks god it seems I found something that is fullfilling all the needs I have! Big Grin

Thanks for your support.
Thomas
we need a debug log on pastebin. see my signature
Sorry, of course this makes sense.

XBMC Log of viewing a 720p film:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15182173/xbmc.log

After waiting until no sound is played it's possible to just click another film once, but then the whole system is stuck and you have to kill the XBMC process in task manager to stop it.

And here a hardware printout:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15182173/ZBox_HW_Report.htm

Thanks again.
Thomas
It looks as if the CrystalHD is failing to decode the video. If you say some videos play while others don't it must be something to do with the video format. I don't know enough about how the Crytal works to comment further.

Re the remote, see http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Usi..._with_XBMC. To help further we'll need to know what model of remote you have and in particular whether it's a Microsoft/eHome/RC6 remote.

JR
Thanks so far,

Regarding the Crystal HD decoder: