Start XBMC on ATV2 at boot.

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Fire69 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 4
Post: #16
Memphiz Wrote:i bet he used the mainmenu plugin thing somehow ... great thing...

Memphiz Wrote:nope ... once and last again ... xbmc is not an application on atv2 it is an addon for the apple frontend and loaded from it ... nothing we know about unix, or linux or macos will help us for getting it launched other then by selecting it from the apple menu.

That was you a couple of days ago. Rolleyes
Now don't go acting like it's an easy thing to do!

Just kidding!! Rofl
find quote
DazNoonan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
davilla Wrote:Ok campers, you ask for it and now you can have it. Thanks to tomcool (with some poking from me), you can boot the atv2 and have it enter into xbmc directly. No more having to right button over and start it

How to install:

apt-get install org.tomcool.xbmc-booter

How to remove:

apt-get remove org.tomcool.xbmc-booter

If you exit XBMC, it will exit back to frontrow. This package is still being propagated to the various repos so give it a few hours to get pushed up.
Fantastic... Awesome!!

Devices using XBMC
iMac | MacBook | MacBook Air | AppleTV2 | iPad | iPhone4
[Image: classic]
[Image: widget_1.png?1305454501]
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,139
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #18
@davilla

it does not exit to frontrow ... because appletv.app gets restarted at xbmc quit it just restarts into xbmc Smile - so you'll never see the apple software again with xbmc-booter installed...
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-01 00:13 by Memphiz.)
find quote
davilla Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,374
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #19
Memphiz Wrote:@davilla

it does not exit to frontrow ... because appletv.app gets restarted at xbmc quit it just restarts into xbmc Smile - so you'll never see the apple software again with xbmc-booter installed...

Opps, forgot about that one Smile


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
SydneyGuy Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Hmmm .... I'd love it to boot into XBMC but I would also like to be able to drop back to Frontrow too for the occasional Podcast etc. Shame that if you put this mod in that there doesn't appear to be a way to get to Frontrow.

Oh well. I've managed to train the family how it works now so I can just leave it the way it is.
find quote
g33kboy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
Never booting back to front row would be great, but I would miss the native Netflix app that exists on front row. If someone could figure out how to launch the native netflix app from XBMC, than that last issue would be solved.
find quote
sdesign Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Thanks Tomcool. Might use this in the future!

Regards,

SD
find quote
teedd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
ah if only you could sleep the device from within xbmc and still be able to fallback to front row for airplay stuff.
find quote
Fire69 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 4
Post: #24
Ah yes, sleep from within XBMC would be great to have now Smile
find quote
akid1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #25
i used a little workaround for sleep:

- set xbmc to shutdown after 10 minutes of idle-time (falls back to frontrow)
- set frontrow to sleep after 15 minutes of idle-time

this way, you will have sleeping apple tv 2 after 25 minutes.

for me, i now leave my apple tv 2 up and running all the time, as the energy-usage is quite low.
find quote
Fire69 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 4
Post: #26
There are 2 problems with that workaround:
- My atv2 seems to reset the sleeptimer to 'Never' after a random period of time...
- When you install the tomcool.xbmc-booter, xmbc quits, and will be automatically restarted Smile
find quote
Stiffler Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 7
Location: Manchester (UK)
Post: #27
I was under the impression that XBMC resets the sleep timer to 'Never' at boot, but once it successfully closes it returns to the previous setting. The problem being that if XBMC crashes or does not shut down cleanly the setting is left at "Never"

[Image: widget] Don't even think about my mother!
find quote
freaksworth Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: May 2006
Reputation: 2
Post: #28
You guys make things possible, which never ever gonna happen. Are there any explanations how you did this miracle?

freaksworth is not connected to or in any other way affiliated with XBMC, Team XBMC, or the XBMC Foundation.
find quote
Fire69 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 4
Post: #29
Stiffler Wrote:I was under the impression that XBMC resets the sleep timer to 'Never' at boot, but once it successfully closes it returns to the previous setting. The problem being that if XBMC crashes or does not shut down cleanly the setting is left at "Never"

Seems a plausible explanation. I had a few crashes due to too heavy loads when testing skins.

Is it possible to disable this behavior? So XBMC doesn't touch the sleep-setting?
find quote
Bumpaneer Offline
Donor
Posts: 57
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #30
Fire69 Wrote:Seems a plausible explanation. I had a few crashes due to too heavy loads when testing skins.

Is it possible to disable this behavior? So XBMC doesn't touch the sleep-setting?

I believe there was a problem with the sleep function interrupting the functionality of xbmc, which is why it gets disabled now on starting xbmc.
find quote
Post Reply