XBMC not working

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
burhanashraf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have been trying to get XBMC to work on my windows 7 desktop for almost a week now and haven't found a solution. Whenever I open xbmc i get a black screen and receive the following error
CApplication::Create() failed - check log file and that it is writeable
I've tried the latest nightly builds and the stable dharma version, and I have checked to see if direct x is working with dxdiag. I've seen other people on the fourms with this error and none of there solutions worked for me.
Here is my log file


17:16:24 T:2884 M:111529984 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: Starting XBMC, Platform: Windows 7, 32-bit build 7600. Built on Mar 6 2011 (Git:ff701de, compiler 1600)
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: Intel® Celeron® CPU 2.80GHz
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: Desktop Resolution: 1280x1024 32Bit at 1Hz
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: Running with restricted rights
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: Aero is disabled
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: special://xbmc/ is mapped to: C:\Program Files\XBMC
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: special://xbmcbin/ is mapped to: C:\Program Files\XBMC
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: special://masterprofile/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Burhan\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: special://home/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Burhan\AppData\Roaming\XBMC
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: special://temp/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Burhan\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\cache
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: The executable running is: C:\Program Files\XBMC\XBMC.exe
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: Log File is located: C:\Users\Burhan\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\xbmc.log
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111509504 NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111484928 NOTICE: Setup SDL
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111177728 NOTICE: Found screen: Generic PnP Monitor on Standard VGA Graphics Adapter, adapter 0.
17:16:24 T:2884 M:111153152 NOTICE: Primary mode: 1280x1024
17:16:25 T:2884 M:111091712 NOTICE: Additional mode: 1280x1024
17:16:25 T:2884 M:111091712 NOTICE: Additional mode: 1024x768
17:16:25 T:2884 M:111087616 NOTICE: Additional mode: 640x480
17:16:25 T:2884 M:111087616 NOTICE: Additional mode: 800x600
17:16:25 T:2884 M:111083520 NOTICE: load settings...
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110931968 NOTICE: special://profile/ is mapped to: special://masterprofile/
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110919680 NOTICE: loading special://masterprofile/guisettings.xml
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110780416 NOTICE: Getting hardware information now...
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110772224 NOTICE: Checking resolution 12
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110768128 NOTICE: Loading player core factory settings from special://xbmc/system/playercorefactory.xml.
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110743552 NOTICE: Loaded playercorefactory configuration
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110743552 NOTICE: Loading player core factory settings from special://masterprofile/playercorefactory.xml.
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110743552 NOTICE: special://masterprofile/playercorefactory.xml does not exist. Skipping.
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110743552 NOTICE: No advancedsettings.xml to load (special://masterprofile/advancedsettings.xml)
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110739456 NOTICE: Default DVD Player: dvdplayer
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110739456 NOTICE: Default Video Player: dvdplayer
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110739456 NOTICE: Default Audio Player: paplayer
17:16:25 T:2884 M:110784512 NOTICE: Loading media sources from special://masterprofile/sources.xml
17:16:25 T:2884 M:107474944 WARNING: CRenderSystemDX::CreateDevice - initial wanted device config failed
17:16:25 T:2884 M:107433984 ERROR: CRenderSystemDX::CreateDevice - unable to create a device. 8876086A - D3DERR_NOTAVAILABLE (Not available)
17:16:25 T:2884 M:107433984 FATAL: CApplication::Create: Unable to init rendering system
17:16:27 T:3544 M:106209280 ERROR: CRemoteControl::Connect - failed to connect

I would really appreciate it if someone could help me out here.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-25 19:24 by burhanashraf.)
find quote
Brad P Offline
Donor
Posts: 194
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Click your Start Orb, and type dxdiag in the search programs box and hit enter.

Go to your Display Tab and see what the status is on DirectX features, ie, enabled or disabled.

Also, is your Aero affects working?

Desktop / HTPC: Win7 x86, Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition case, Asus P5Q Pro, Intel C2Q q8300, Asus 4550HD, Asus 3450HD, CM M 1000w, 4GB GSkill, 2x Seagate 7200.11 1TB Raid 1, Samsung SSD 240GB, SPM393 Raid Controller w/ 1 Samsung 2TB, 4 1.5TB for a 7.2TB media volume

XBMC as of May 2014 - 12.2 Frodo
find quote
natethomas Offline
Team Kodi Community Manager
Posts: 3,737
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 63
Location: Kansas
Post: #3
I'm also a little curious what graphics card you are using.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
burhanashraf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
[Image: 106msld.png]
and no my aero effect is not working.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-25 22:24 by burhanashraf.)
find quote
Schumi Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Your VGA kart didnt installed. Is it your name Burhan. Are you Turk ?
find quote
burhanashraf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
yea my name is Burhan and no im not turkish, what do you mean by my vga kart didnt install
find quote
branlr Offline
Fan
Posts: 355
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 3
Location: I live in Chicago.
Post: #7
Lol, props for the title of this thread.
find quote
Brad P Offline
Donor
Posts: 194
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Well, that answers that.

What graphics card do you have? You don't have the drivers for it installed. You only have generic drivers that came with Windows.

XBMC needs DirectX to work and the correct video drivers for your video card. You also need a decent video card for XBMC to work.

Desktop / HTPC: Win7 x86, Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition case, Asus P5Q Pro, Intel C2Q q8300, Asus 4550HD, Asus 3450HD, CM M 1000w, 4GB GSkill, 2x Seagate 7200.11 1TB Raid 1, Samsung SSD 240GB, SPM393 Raid Controller w/ 1 Samsung 2TB, 4 1.5TB for a 7.2TB media volume

XBMC as of May 2014 - 12.2 Frodo
find quote
burhanashraf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
i think im running a intel® 915G/915GV/910GL Graphics Card, I'll try and find the drivers for it on my manufacturer is site.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-26 08:51 by burhanashraf.)
find quote
YodaEXE Offline
Fan
Posts: 451
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Does that card have the power to run Minesweeper, let alone XBMC? I'm not sure that it does.
find quote
burhanashraf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
problem solved, all i had to do was update my drivers via windows update and xbmc runs fine now.
find quote