how to get with ssh command xbmc on atv2?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I just checked the instruction on wiki xbmc and they said to do the following command after I finished to unlock atv2 4.2.1ios:

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
apt-get install org.xbmc.xbmc-atv2


But where to type that command?

Is it when I log in with Lan cat5 cable or with wi-fi or with micro usb cable or what?

Please advise,

Thank youSmile
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-28 13:09 by dimnet2000.)
find quote
teedd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
You can use a program like putty to connect via ssh to your apple tv, if the device has been jail broken ok you can login with admin pass: alpine and then follow these instructions.
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
teedd Wrote:You can use a program like putty to connect via ssh to your apple tv, if the device has been jail broken ok you can login with admin pass: alpine and then follow these instructions.

Hi TeeDD,

Thank you for your help and fast reply.

Is it possible to tell me if I connect with CAT5 cable from the Ethernet Port of ATV2 please?

Also I can ping 192.168.2.100 but cannot log in with ssh on Putty when I use cat5 cable.

Please advise.
find quote
teedd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
connecting via Ethernet (cat5) should be fine. I guess your going through a router of sorts first?

Has the appple tv been jail broken OK? If you can't get in on ssh this would suggest it hasn't taken the jailbroken firmware. Which jailbreak method did you use?
find quote
gatito Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: En Mi Casa
Post: #5
make sure the atv2 it's jailbroken... fine out what it's the ip of your atv2 by going in to the settings and network, get putty.. type the ip of the atv2 it's going to ask you for user name= root password =alpine ... hope that helps..

[Image: 1157849872.png]
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
gatito Wrote:make sure the atv2 it's jailbroken... fine out what it's the ip of your atv2 by going in to the settings and network, get putty.. type the ip of the atv2 it's going to ask you for user name= root password =alpine ... hope that helps..

Hi,

Thanks for the info.

I use SeasOnPass.

But its strange. He installed everything and everything was exactly like in the instruction and I saw a aptv box at the end with a ok to let me know it was done.

But I check the version its the same one than beofre in about.

Now I try to reinstall again from micro USB cable and it is nor working.

He try to detect the appleTV but he stay stock in SeasOnPass message.

Please advise,

Thank you
find quote
gatito Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: En Mi Casa
Post: #7
dimnet2000 Wrote:Hi,

Thanks for the info.

I use SeasOnPass.

But its strange. He installed everything and everything was exactly like in the instruction and I saw a aptv box at the end with a ok to let me know it was done.

But I check the version its the same one than beofre in about.

Now I try to reinstall again from micro USB cable and it is nor working.

He try to detect the appleTV but he stay stock in SeasOnPass message.

Please advise,

Thank you
change the usb....and are you sure the you didn't update your atv2?

[Image: 1157849872.png]
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
gatito Wrote:change the usb....and are you sure the you didn't update your atv2?

On the SeasOnPass folder he said restore 4.3. something and when I check about in Apple TV 2, he say IOS 4.2.1

Very strange.

I will try a new USB Cable.
find quote
zoster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
iOS 4.3.1 = ATV 4.2.1

The ATV version number is always 0.(-1).0 Don't ask me why.
(This post was last modified: 2011-03-29 14:31 by zoster.)
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
zoster Wrote:iOS 4.3.1 = ATV 4.2.1

The ATV version number is always 0.(-1).0 Don't ask me why.

Oh I see Zoster. Thank you.

So I bought a new USB CAble. And downloaded again the update and then installed and then thetered with SeasOnPass and it said that it was completed. Which mean JB.

Can you tell me why after all that the Putty still denied access to the atv2?

Here is the configuraiton:
CAT5 ethernet cable connected from laptop to atv2 with ip 192.168.2.100 and gateway 192.168.2.1 and dns 192.168.2.1

I also connected the power cable. But disconnected the micro usb cable.

I connect into ssh with port 22 and I they don't ask me for user name or password in putter.

When I log it they said cannot connect.

Please advise,

Smile
find quote
dharmin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: USA
Post: #11
dimnet2000 Wrote:Oh I see Zoster. Thank you.

So I bought a new USB CAble. And downloaded again the update and then installed and then thetered with SeasOnPass and it said that it was completed. Which mean JB.

Can you tell me why after all that the Putty still denied access to the atv2?

Here is the configuraiton:
CAT5 ethernet cable connected from laptop to atv2 with ip 192.168.2.100 and gateway 192.168.2.1 and dns 192.168.2.1

I also connected the power cable. But disconnected the micro usb cable.

I connect into ssh with port 22 and I they don't ask me for user name or password in putter.

When I log it they said cannot connect.

Please advise,

Smile

Not sure but if you are getting this type of error then check following link. I had a same issue but I am using macbook. OR you can download / use cyberduck. It requires you to delet some key to ssh,

http://forum.firecore.com/topic/4084
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Is it possible that the SeasONPASS cannot JB IOS 4.3?
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Somebody can help me to fix my problem please?

You contact me in private and give me his email address please.
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
When I want to access my apple tv in ssh with putty.

What I need to connect to my Apple TV?

Ethernet cable or WI-FI?
Micro USB?
Power Cable?
Connect Ethernet cable to a router or direct to the laptop?
find quote
dimnet2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
When I try to connect with Putty, Here is the message error I got:

Network refused, connection error
find quote
Post Reply