My first htpc/nas
Hi
I’m in the process of compiling my own htpc/nas and I could need some advice. So far I have chosen the following hardware:

• ASUS E35M1-I DELUXE
• Linkworld 920-01 C.2128
• Kingston ValueRAM 2 x 2 GB
• WD AV WD1600AVJS 160 GB

The reason that I’ve chosen the Asus board is because it has 5 sata ports which I think is great because I want to use this box as a nas. The other parts have been chosen by cost. I have very little experience when it comes to htpc’s so I would like your opinions on this configuration. Also will this system run under linux? I would like to run linux but if I have to run windows it wouldn’t be the end of the world.

I’ve also looked at the micro ATX counterparts to this board because they are cheaper, but I can’t find a cheap case that’s small enough. Do have any suggestions to a micro ATX case or have any other opinions on micro ATX?
I dont think that case will be suitable. 150W PSU might struggle to power to 5 hard drives. A quick google shows that case only supports one hard drive.
I was never my intention to run five hdd of that psu. My plan is buy a separate harddrive case with a psu at a later time.

My dream would be a compact case with capacity for five drives and my htpc, something like this. But it's to expensive for me.
i looked at going down building my own NAS but ended up buying a Synology.

If in the future add a case with 4/5 drives, just think of the noise coming from your nas/htpc.

This is the cheapest NAS case ive seen so far.
http://linitx.com/viewproduct.php?prodid=12789
djashjones Wrote:i looked at going down building my own NAS but ended up buying a Synology.

If in the future add a case with 4/5 drives, just think of the noise coming from your nas/htpc.

This is the cheapest NAS case ive seen so far.
http://linitx.com/viewproduct.php?prodid=12789

Is 4-5 drive really that noisy?
well my synology has 4 x 3.5 sata drives and the specs say:

•Power Consumption3: 42.9W(Access); 16W(HDD Hibernation)