Playback issue

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
_ak1_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I’ve got an issue with Neon playing episodes of a specific TV-series.

I’m running a XBMC nightly build:

“… Starting XBMC, Platform: Windows 7, 64-bit (WoW) Service Pack 1 build 7601. Built on Apr 1 2011 (Git:20110331-acb1223, compiler 1600)“

While trying to play XVID AVIs for a certain TV-Series nothing is happening. I’m selecting an episode to be played, but nothing seems to happen.
The log says:
“…
19:20:24 T:4120 M:4294967295 NOTICE: DVDPlayer: Opening: W:\media\videos\Kinder\Serien\Horseland
19:20:24 T:4120 M:4294967295 WARNING: CDVDMessageQueue(player)::Put MSGQ_NOT_INITIALIZED
19:20:24 T:3744 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Creating InputStream
19:20:24 T:3744 M:4294967295 ERROR: CDVDPlayer::OpenInputStream - error opening [W:\media\videos\Kinder\Serien\Horseland]
19:20:24 T:3744 M:4294967295 NOTICE: CDVDPlayer::OnExit()
19:20:24 T:3744 M:4294967295 NOTICE: CDVDPlayer::OnExit() deleting input stream
19:20:24 T:4120 M:4294967295 ERROR: XBMC.PlayMedia could not play media: W:\media\videos\Kinder\Serien\Horseland
19:20:24 T:4120 M:4294967295 NOTICE: CDVDPlayer::CloseFile()
…”

Switching to Confluence I don’t have any problems:

“…
19:28:02 T:6032 M:4294967295 NOTICE: DVDPlayer: Opening: W:\media\videos\Kinder\Serien\Horseland, die Pferderanch\Staffel 1\Horseland, die Pferderanch - s01e01 - Die Neue.avi
19:28:02 T:6032 M:4294967295 WARNING: CDVDMessageQueue(player)::Put MSGQ_NOT_INITIALIZED
19:28:02 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Creating InputStream
19:28:02 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Creating Demuxer
19:28:03 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Opening video stream: 0 source: 256
19:28:03 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Creating video codec with codec id: 13
19:28:03 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: CDVDVideoCodecFFmpeg::Open() Using codec: MPEG-4 part 2
19:28:03 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Creating video thread
19:28:03 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Opening audio stream: 1 source: 256
19:28:03 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Finding audio codec for: 86017
19:28:03 T:6020 M:4294967295 NOTICE: running thread: video_thread
19:28:03 T:6136 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Creating audio thread
19:28:03 T:4184 M:4294967295 NOTICE: running thread: CDVDPlayerAudio::Process()
19:28:03 T:4184 M:4294967295 NOTICE: Creating audio device with codec id: 86017, channels: 2, sample rate: 48000, no pass-through
19:28:03 T:6020 M:4294967295 NOTICE: fps: 25.000000, pwidth: 716, pheight: 574, dwidth: 713, dheight: 536
…”

I tried this on two different machines. One is accessing the video files from a local drive, the other one from a share. Within Neon I tried to select and play from filemode and from database mode. No difference.

Has anybody a clue?

Thanks,
_ak1_
find quote
_ak1_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I think I already found the issue. I found other series where it's not working either. And they have all one thing in common: The folder names where the episodes are stored are including a comma (",").
The log extracts also gives a hint. The path gets cut off at the position of the comma.
I guess this is a bug.

_ak1_
find quote
tcman47 Offline
Fan
Posts: 426
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Naperville, IL
Post: #3
Horseland is an American animated series produced by DIC Entertainment.

It follows events in the lives of a group of kids who visit Horseland, a ranch for horses, and their adventures of riding, raising, and entering their horses in competitions.

The show premiered on September 16, 2006 as part of CBS's new Saturday morning cartoon block, KOL Secret Slumber Party on CBS (now Cookie Jar TV).

Concurrent with the series, the online virtual pet game that it was based upon was updated to complement the show by launching a new "Junior version" of the game based on the program and featuring its various characters and locations.

After three seasons, the show's run ended on CBS on September 19, 2009.

Reruns of Horseland aired nationwide on the digital subchannel This TV; two episodes aired each weekend until September, 2010. Horseland is again part of Cookie Jar TV as of February 5, 2011.

TC Wink

Loft - Intel I5-3570K, Asus P8Z77-LX, Corsair 16GB DDR3, AMD HD 7700, AOC 27" LCD
Bedroom - Intel I3-530, Intel DH55HC, Corsair 4GB DDR3, Nvidia G610, Samsung 37" HDTV
Living Room - Intel E8400, Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H, 4GB DDR2, Nvidia G610, Samsung 52" HDTV
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #4
Nice synopsis tcman, but I really don't think it helps address the issue. Confused

@_ak1_ - are the two machines on different os's? Playing videos is completely skin independant.

Thanks,
find quote
_ak1_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
stoli Wrote:Nice synopsis tcman, but I really don't think it helps address the issue. Confused

@_ak1_ - are the two machines on different os's? Playing videos is completely skin independant.

Thanks,

One is on Windows 7 x86 (accessing the videos via smb share) and the other is on Windows 7 x64 (having this folder as a local folder).
I verified that, it's just the folders with a comma in the name causing the problem, e.g.

"Horseland, die Pferderanch"
"Roary, der Rennwagen"
and some others.

It's not working wit Neon (SVN). See my first log extract. At the comma the path got cut off. After switching to Confluence it's working again. The path is complete (see second log extract).

I just cleaned up and reinstalled latest XBMC nightly and Neon (SVN) on the x64 machine. Same results. Working with Confluence, not working with Neon.

Anything you want me to test?
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #6
That makes no sense. Try this, turn on debugging, start the video in Neon and then switch to Confluence and run it again, post log to pastebin.com. Once you start the movie (pressing enter), the skin should have no bearing on it.... Confused
find quote
_ak1_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Yes, I did this. Same behaviour again.
I never used pastebin.com before. So hopefully this worked:
http://pastebin.com/7n9hEy01
Have a look at line 318 and then (with Confluence) at 591.
I guess you can easily reproduce it yourself. Just put a comma in the folder name of one of your TV series.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,158
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #8
ok, you're using the movie info dialog to start the episode.
neon has some custom play button there, which uses a slightly incomplete command to start the video.

@stoli: you need to put quotes around the $INFO[] label:
Code:
PlayMedia("$INFO[ListItem.FileNameAndPath]")

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #9
ronie Wrote:ok, you're using the movie info dialog to start the episode.
neon has some custom play button there, which uses a slightly incomplete command to start the video.

@stoli: you need to put quotes around the $INFO[] label:
Code:
PlayMedia("$INFO[ListItem.FileNameAndPath]")

Grrrr. Thanks ronie! It's the little things that come back to bite. Smile Goes back to when it was tied to the HTE script - I'll update it tonight.
(This post was last modified: 2011-04-06 22:57 by stoli.)
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,158
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #10
stoli Wrote:Grrrr. Thanks ronie! It's the little things that come back to bite. Smile

no problem, i also had to learn it the hard way myself.

you may also want to make the same changes to the PlayMedia() commands for the recentlyadded items on the home screen ;-)

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #11
ronie Wrote:no problem, i also had to learn it the hard way myself.

you may also want to make the same changes to the PlayMedia() commands for the recentlyadded items on the home screen ;-)

All updated now ronie - thanks for that! Now, if you have a spare minute could you help on my damn latest added music? For some reason I cannot get onup to go to the music. TV and Movies work fine, just not music and I'll be damned if I can see why not. If you venture to take a look, I'm using IncludesHomeRecentlyAdded.xml and Includes_Home_Horizontal.xml respectively for these.

Thanks in advance! Smile
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,158
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #12
stoli Wrote:All updated now ronie - thanks for that! Now, if you have a spare minute could you help on my damn latest added music? For some reason I cannot get onup to go to the music. TV and Movies work fine, just not music and I'll be damned if I can see why not. If you venture to take a look, I'm using IncludesHomeRecentlyAdded.xml and Includes_Home_Horizontal.xml respectively for these.

Thanks in advance! Smile

IncludesHomeRecentlyAdded.xml:

you have put the recently added code for music
outside of <control type="group" id="78881">

to fix, move the </control> from line 378 to line 532.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #13
ronie Wrote:IncludesHomeRecentlyAdded.xml:

you have put the recently added code for music
outside of <control type="group" id="78881">

to fix, move the </control> from line 378 to line 532.

Perfect. Thank you ronie! Big Grin
find quote