Updating from git causes black screen

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
joelones Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Just update via git today and upon reboot I was presented with a black screen. Sounds were present but the display was completely blacked out. Had to delete guisettings.xml and reclone to solve the problem. Could be just my setup or not, not sure...
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #2
joelones Wrote:Just update via git today and upon reboot I was presented with a black screen. Sounds were present but the display was completely blacked out. Had to delete guisettings.xml and reclone to solve the problem. Could be just my setup or not, not sure...

I had the same thing on one machine but not another, so I am not sure exactly what the issue is yet....if there even is one.

Thanks for the heads-up though.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #3
This should be fixed on Git now. A quick fix it just just enable "Enable Playlist" in settings until you update.

Price of progress. Smile
find quote
subs09 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I had the same thing happen to me and I couldn't fix it so I just reinstalled XBMC and installed what should have been the most up-to-date version of Neon through the XBMC addons and it happened again.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #5
If you are installing via the xbmc repo, that hasn't been updated since the initial release.
find quote
subs09 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Ah sorry I wasn't aware of that.
find quote
jhernandez86 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
can you give details on the quick fix. How do yo enable Playlist on settings?
find quote
jhernandez86 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
ok let me be more specific, I am using neon on my apple tv 2g and all I am able to see is a black screen. Can someone point out how to fix this on ATV2G with detail instructions.

I am not that knowlegeable about fixing things on this hard ware.

Thank you
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #9
jhernandez86 Wrote:ok let me be more specific, I am using neon on my apple tv 2g and all I am able to see is a black screen. Can someone point out how to fix this on ATV2G with detail instructions.

I am not that knowlegeable about fixing things on this hard ware.

Thank you

Click right 8 times and then center button and it should open settings and you can make the change.
find quote
jhernandez86 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
I am still stuck
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #11
jhernandez86 Wrote:I am still stuck

What were the results of the above? Next step will be to delete guisettings.xml.
find quote
tcman47 Offline
Fan
Posts: 426
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Naperville, IL
Post: #12
I also experienced black screens as well, it only happened on one of my three computers though, they are all setup the same.

Had to reinstall dharma 10.1 and neon skin to get it working again.

TC

Loft - Intel I5-3570K, Asus P8Z77-LX, Corsair 16GB DDR3, AMD HD 7700, AOC 27" LCD
Bedroom - Intel I3-530, Intel DH55HC, Corsair 4GB DDR3, Nvidia G610, Samsung 37" HDTV
Living Room - Intel E8400, Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H, 4GB DDR2, Nvidia G610, Samsung 52" HDTV
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #13
I can assure others you do not need to reinstall xbmc, in fact that would not address the underlying cause of the problem. Sorry you had to go through that.
find quote
jhernandez86 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
stoli Wrote:What were the results of the above? Next step will be to delete guisettings.xml.

I press right click 8 times and then hit the center bottom, but I was still getting a black screen. How do you delete guisettings.xml?
find quote
_ak1_ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
I also had this issue with two machines. My easy way to get a away from the black screen was to press the 's' button. That gave me the bottom menue which enabled me to get to the settings dialogue. There I made sure that the new Neon update was loaded. After that everything was fine again.

_ak1_
find quote
Post Reply