Newbie Hardware check
Hi all,

My name is John and I am new to the XBMC world. A bud of mine has an XBMC setup through his laptop, and I have seen what it is capable of and want to make a setup for a tv or 2 myself. Thanks in advance for all of your help.

I am primarily interested in streaming live TV through XBMC and the reasoning behind this post is purely a hardware check. Please let me know if I have all my bases covered with the following hardware to stream live TV in the US:

Intel NUC
2GB RAM stick
Couple flash drives
USB wireless keyboard or remote

Will this suffice to stream live TV?

Thanks again,
John
How are you planning to live stream TV? Do you have a PVR system setup in the environment? In order to stream Live TV or even record it you will need a PVR/DVR function and a means to capture the TV stream. Some people do it with Capture cards, out of the question with the NUC unless you do USB, and some do it with IP based streaming devices. These two setups will still require a PVR system and XBMC with a supported PVR plugin can read the data.
HTPC(s): All running LibreELEC
  • AMD 2200G APU on Gigabyte AB350N-Gaming WIFI-CF
  • RPI3 x2 | RPI2 x2
NAS: FreeNAS (Latest Stable) | NFS/CIFS
Yep all looks good.

You will need a LiveTV usb stick though for tv reception.
(2014-01-05, 21:56)pyrodex Wrote: How are you planning to live stream TV? Do you have a PVR system setup in the environment? In order to stream Live TV or even record it you will need a PVR/DVR function and a means to capture the TV stream. Some people do it with Capture cards, out of the question with the NUC unless you do USB, and some do it with IP based streaming devices. These two setups will still require a PVR system and XBMC with a supported PVR plugin can read the data.