General Apple Tv question
Hello,

I am new to xbmc and am loving it so far. I have two tv's hard wired to my computer and I control it with my ipad using xmbc commander. I have another tv that I want to be able to watch my movies via xbmc on, so I was considering purchasing the apple tv for $99. I have read around and realize I would need to jailbreak my apple tv to watch xmbc, but before I purchased this I just wanted to get a feel for how people liked the apple tv and how easily it works with xbmc. Do I still use the version I have loaded on my computer or is there a seperate program? Will my xbmc commander app work?

Thanks!
I had a few issues jail breaking, but installation of XBMC was easy. Once I installed a nightly, currently May 16th version, I really began to feel the love.

Smb shares worked properly for me, I set up mysql library, got the add ons I wanted & found a great skin called Quartz so all is pretty rosy at the moment.

I got a new atv2 a couple of weeks ago, and I updated iOS before I started on XBMC. You can see my actual version from the links in my signature ( see links to flickr ).

Commander works pretty well. I only have movies on my HDD so I may be under utilizing the atv.
--
XBMC HUB - THE NEW HOME FOR ADD-ONS and PLUGINS
Read how my ATV2 installation went
ATV2 one week on ... it's getting better all the time
XBMC/ATV2 - Feeling the love
--
XBMC:
Platform - Darwin iOS (11.0.0 AppleTV2,1, Version 4.3 (Build 8F305)).
11.0-RC2 - Built on Mar 1 2012 (Git:20120229-f38655f)
Platform - Darwin OSX (8.8.2 i386, Version 10.4.7 (Build 8N6014)).
11.0-RC2 - Built on Mar 1 2012 (Git:20120229-f38655f)
I'm loving XBMC as well. There is a slight but: it just isn't a completely developped program at the moment. It works fine in most cases, great in some, but not at all in others. When I bought my ATV I wasn't aware that it only plays HD when the files have the x264-codec. And next to that it still has quite some bugs.