Xbmc Shutdown

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
voyagerxp Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
When i want to shut down xbmc to desktop i click exit button on my control and the bar comes up with shutdown, restart and so on but can xbmc be set to just shutdown to desktop just by pressing the exit button.
find quote
baijuxavior Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,612
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 38
Location: India
Post: #2
If I get it right, you want to see only the 'Exit' button and pressing which XBMC should exit to show the desktop. If you are using XBMC Eden with confluence skin, you can do this by editing the 'DialogButtonMenu.xml' file under 'C:\Program Files\XBMC\addons\skin.confluence\720p'. Set the visibility of the button controls you don't want to see to 'false' as in <visible>False</visible>
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #3
Nope. He doesn't want to even see the exit button. He just wants it to exit when he presses a button, no pop-ups.

How are you controlling XBMC? If using EvenGhost that would be a snap. Otherwise you just need to make an edit to your remote keymap remote.xml file.

Change line 65:
Code:
<power>XBMC.ShutDown()</power>

to:
Code:
<power>XBMC.Quit</power>

You can find this file in the XBMC install folder\system\keymaps. Copy the remote.xml file to you userdata folder into the keymaps folder. Then edit as you need.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-05 16:17 by kricker.)
find quote
voyagerxp Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I use imon with the veris RM 200, the remote below and this is what i want to happen.

The power putton on my remote shuts down my htpc system which is what i want but i have the app exit button on the top left. If i click the app exit button the exit menu on xbmc comes up and i have to click exit but as you said kricker i just want xbmc to shut down to desktop without the menu.

[Image: Snap1-25.jpg]
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #5
Either do as I mentioned above, or in the iMon software map that button to quit XBMC. It has been a while since I setup an iMon remote, so I can't remember exactly how to do it. I remember something in the iMon where the different apps can have buttons assigned to whatever you want them to do. The one I last setup sent keyboard commands, which means instead of editing the remote.xml file you need to edit the keyboard.xml file.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-05 16:46 by kricker.)
find quote
Hiethen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I have a Mediagate remote and I assigned the following function via the remote registry edit for the "#" key on the remote so that it sends "alt-f4" to close XBMC.

Quote: 1C,00,00,00,04,04,3d,\ ; # - sends "alt-f4" (close xbmc)
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #7
If possible you should send the XBMC command to quit. This will be a more graceful close than doing an Alt+f4.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
voyagerxp Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Anyone got any links to learn how to do these things I'm quite new with htpc's and xbmc, i wouldn't know where to start.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-05 19:34 by voyagerxp.)
find quote
Hiethen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2012-04-05 18:23)kricker Wrote:  If possible you should send the XBMC command to quit. This will be a more graceful close than doing an Alt+f4.

Thanks for the tip, I will look into this.
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #10
(2012-04-05 19:16)voyagerxp Wrote:  Anyone got any links to learn how to do these things I'm quite new with htpc's and xbmc, i wouldn't know where to start.

I told you above how to do it. What step are you stuck at?

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
voyagerxp Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Thanks kricker, sorted it, its just temp as i'm buying a harmony one control soon to do away with this awful RM 200 remote.
find quote
Hiethen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(2012-04-05 18:23)kricker Wrote:  If possible you should send the XBMC command to quit. This will be a more graceful close than doing an Alt+f4.

What is the command to Quit/Exit XBMC, I tried the following in my keyboard.xml file and it didn't work.

<three mod="ctrl,shift">XBMC.Quit</three>

I think this was the reason that I was using alt-f4, since that was the only way I had found to quit XBMC.
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #13
That should be it.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Lis..._functions

I edited my keyboard.xml file. In the global section I changed s to be XBMC.Quit and it worked perfectly.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-06 02:59 by kricker.)
find quote
Hiethen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
(2012-04-06 02:45)kricker Wrote:  That should be it.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Lis..._functions

I even tried Quit by itself and I tried XBMC.Quit(), but neither worked. This setting is under my <keymap>, <global>, <keyboard> section, maybe that is not the right section.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-06 02:51 by Hiethen.)
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #15
Global is the proper section. I just edited my post above mentioning that. Have you tried it on a basic key without any key mods?

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
Post Reply