How do I update

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 668
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #1
So on my Ubuntu 10.04 machine, I installed XBMC from the console forever ago... it was a nightly SVN repository.

When 10.0 came out, it stopped updating through the Update Manager.

I no longer need the SVN's, but I would like to update to the official 10.1, and all the official updates...

XBMC: Frodo 12.2, with Transparency!
17.5 TB Unraid Server: 2500 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8 (cause Steam), i7 920, ATI 6850 OC
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
find quote
h.udo Online
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 9
Post: #2
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install python-software-properties
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install --reinstall xbmc xbmc-live

That should do the trick.

Backup your xbmc folder first. Just for good measure.

h.udo
(This post was last modified: 2011-05-01 03:14 by h.udo.)
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 668
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #3
Thanks hudo,

One question before I do that, why is xbmc-live one of the arguments?

XBMC: Frodo 12.2, with Transparency!
17.5 TB Unraid Server: 2500 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8 (cause Steam), i7 920, ATI 6850 OC
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
find quote
h.udo Online
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 9
Post: #4
Because it is one of the needed packages if you have a XBMC Live based system. In other words, it is needed to autostart xbmc upon system startup.

Technically you achieve the same with only sudo apt-get install --reinstall xbmc-live because xbmc is a dependency of xbmc-live.

Unless you are start xbmc by some other method (script or something) it should be installed. You can check the package status by issuing sudo apt-cache policy xbmc-live.

Anyway, before installing anything, the system prompts for authorization. Have a look at what it says about installed/updated/remove/etc packages.

h.udo
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 668
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #5
Ah, so far I've been starting XBMC by wheeling the horrible trackball wheel on my keyboard/remote combo, and clicking on the cheap button twice Tongue

I'll try the auto-start instead Smile

Thanks!

XBMC: Frodo 12.2, with Transparency!
17.5 TB Unraid Server: 2500 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8 (cause Steam), i7 920, ATI 6850 OC
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
find quote
h.udo Online
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 9
Post: #6
If you're using Ubuntu desktop, don't use xbmc-live to autostart XBMC.
If you're not using Ubuntu desktop, add xinit and x11-xserver-utils to the package install list. They are unlisted xbmc-live dependencies.

h.udo
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 668
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #7
Okay, thanks! Update went swimmingly... Finally no .0 bugs for me!

Also, when copying my xbmc folder, discovered that it had swoll to over 10GB because it was saving the package for every addon update... deleted it all, and now my little SSD has more room = better performance Smile

XBMC: Frodo 12.2, with Transparency!
17.5 TB Unraid Server: 2500 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8 (cause Steam), i7 920, ATI 6850 OC
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
find quote
h.udo Online
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 9
Post: #8
Good to know all worked well!
Yeah, addons folder can get quite big...

h.udo
find quote
FreeMan xbmc Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Thanks for the little tutorial, hudo! I've got this thread bookmarked since I can never remember the commands...

FreeMan
find quote
h.udo Online
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 9
Post: #10
You are welcome.
A bit confusing mixing Desktop and Live like systems but it works.

BTW, @clock2113 are you on Desktop or Live like system?

h.udo
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 668
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #11
Well, I've got the desktop, but 97 percent of the time I only use XBMC...

At some point there's going to be a good full-screen browser like Kylo for Linux, which will be able to start from the XBMC main menu, and then I'll ditch the desktop for a minimal-install...

XBMC: Frodo 12.2, with Transparency!
17.5 TB Unraid Server: 2500 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8 (cause Steam), i7 920, ATI 6850 OC
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
find quote
h.udo Online
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 9
Post: #12
There where some how-tos around to make XBMC launch a browser. Firefox and Chrome, I believe.

They aren't TV specific browsers but you could give that a try if you want to.

h.udo
find quote