DHCP help
Hi all,

Just installed XBMC Live so much HTPC boots straight into it and as this is the only OS on my HTPC I'm finding it very difficult to configure!

I'm a complete noob with linux and can't find how to set it on. It's taken me an hour to find out that ctrl+alt+f2 brings up the comand-line Sad is there a more windows looking way to configure the box. I only have a er1402 so don't want to have to install another OS.

Thanks!
Code:
sudo ifconfig -a

to list all your network interfaces, probably eth0. Then do:

Code:
sudo dhclient <interface>

And it should get an IP address.
IAmNotAUser Wrote:
Code:
sudo ifconfig -a

to list all your network interfaces, probably eth0. Then do:

Code:
sudo dhclient <interface>

And it should get an IP address.

thank you! worked straight away, brilliant!

is there a website that lists useful commands like these?
ok it WAS great... :confused2:

rebooted the machine and it won't automatically get an IP, if I do the fix above it works but I don't want to have to do that everytime!

any ideas how to get it to automatically get an IP on bootup?

thanks
MrGooner08 Wrote:ok it WAS great... :confused2:

rebooted the machine and it won't automatically get an IP, if I do the fix above it works but I don't want to have to do that everytime!

thanks

Is the eth0 interface set for dhcp in the interfaces file?

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Con...nfigure_IP
MrGooner08 Wrote:ok it WAS great... :confused2:

thanks

I was just about to reply saying how to get it doing every time. Just wanted to make sure that we knew what the issue was before suggesting permanent fixes if they weren't correct Smile

You need to edit the file /etc/network/interfaces. On XBMC Live you can either connect using WinSCP and transfer the file off, modify it and then replace it or use a console based editor such as nano. The command would be:

Code:
sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces

You're going to be looking for something in that file that might look like