play Bluray iso with xbmc

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Killus3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi evryone!!

sorry if my english isn't perfect...but I'm Italian user of XBMC..Blush

I have some Bluray film in iso format that have BDMV and CERTIFICATE folders (I think it's a tipical structure of Bluray Disc). I'm trying to play this films using xbmc..but don't play them!

How I can set xbmc to play its?
I have read about setting an external player and automount iso's...editing the "advancedsettings.xml" I usually use Alcohol 120% and PowerDVD 10 or VLC to see my DVD and Bluray films...but now i want see its with xbmc...and I don't know how to set the advancedsettings.xml to do it.

Can you help me?

the script is right?

Code:
<advancedsettings>
<video>
  <defaultplayer>PowerDVD</defaultplayer>
</video>
<externalplayer>
  <filename>link to exe of PowerDVD</filename>
  <args>-fs</args>   <--here I set iso disc of bluray? or the unit letter of the virtual drive?
  <forceontop>false</forceontop>
  <hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
  <hidecursor>false</hidecursor>
</externalplayer>
</advancedsettings>
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-14 15:43 by Killus3.)
find quote
Killus3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Anyone can help me?
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #3
you need to use playercorefactory.xml these days. http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...a_playback
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I will try and help as much as possible - as this took me ages to fine tune.

You need to launch an external player to play BR ISO's. My choice was MPC-HC.
Then you need ffdshow to send the HD Audio tracks to your receiver. I assume you have a receiver that can decode HD audio?

You will also need Slysofts Virtual Clone Drive (free) to mount the ISO's.

I will try and detail the steps as follows:

1. Download MPC-HC from here. Make sure you get the 64bit version if need be.

2. Get ffdshow. The version I used was rev3919 64bit

3. Download VCD from here

Follows these steps.

1. Create a directory in C: called FOR_XBMC. So it will look like this. In that create a directory called BATCH_FILES. C:\FOR_XBMC\BATCH_FILES

2. In that directory create a batch file called PlayIso.bat.

3. Copy the following text into that file.

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Elaborate Bytes\VirtualCloneDrive\VCDMount.exe" /d=0 "%1"
choice /T 5 /D y > nul
"C:\Program Files\MPC HomeCinema\mpc-hc64.exe" "F:\BDMV\index.object"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Elaborate Bytes\VirtualCloneDrive\VCDMount.exe" /d=0 /u

1st line mounts the iso file that you click on.
2nd line causes a pause of 5 seconds.
3rd calls MPC-hc to play the mounted file (in this case FSmile and plays the index.bdmv file (the main movie)
4th line unmounts the ISO when you close MPC-HC.

OK, no go to C:\users\yourpcname\appdata\roaming\xbmc\userdata

open Notepad and copy the following text in there

<advancedsettings>
<video>
<defaultplayer>externalplayer</defaultplayer>
</video>
<externalplayer>
<filename>c:\Program Files\MPC HomeCinema\mpc-hc64.exe</filename>
<args>-fs</args>
<forceontop>true</forceontop>
<hidexbmc>true</hidexbmc>
<hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
<hidecursor>false</hidecursor>
</externalplayer>
</advancedsettings>

save this as advancedsettings.xml. Some say you don't need this file, but hey, it works for me.

In Notepad again copy the following text.

<playercorefactory>
<players>
<player name="MPC-HC" type="ExternalPlayer" audio="false" video="true">
<filename>C:\FOR_XBMC\BATCH_FILES\PlayISO.bat </filename>
<args>"{1}" /fullscreen /close</args>
<hidexbmc>false</hidexbmc>
<hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
<warpcursor>none</warpcursor>
</player>
</players>
<rules action="prepend">
<rule filetypes="iso" filename=".*bluray.*" player="MPC-HC"/>
</rules>
</playercorefactory>

Save this as playercorefactory.xml

Take note to the 3rd last line. This pretty much tell XBMC to launch the external player when an ISO with a .bluray in the file name. ie U2_Live.bluray.iso

You MUST rename your BR ISO's to title.bluray.iso as that is what the rule in the 3rd line states.

OK, halfway there.

Next install ffdshow 64 bit to the default directory with all settings default.

At the end open up Audio Decoder Configuration.

On the left side scroll to the bottom and click on Output

Tick all the options under Passthrough SPDIF/HDMI.

Leave everything else default. Click APPLY and the OK.

Install MPC-HC to the default directory.

Open MPC-HC. Click VIEW and scroll down to OPTIONS.

On the left click FORMATS. On the right tick the box which says Blu ray playlist (bdmv,mpls). Once agan this wasn't in the guide that I followed, but it worlked for me.

On the left pane, scroll down to INTERNAL FILTERS. On the right under transform filters, untick H264/AVC (ffmpeg) as well as VC1 (FFmpeg)

On the right pane, click on EXTERNAL FILTERS. On the right click ADD FILTER. Search for ffdshow audio decoder and add it. CLick on PREFER.
Again, Click ADD FILTER and look for MICROSOFT DTV-DVD AUDIO DECODER.
This time click BLOCK

Click APPLY then OK.

So basically what is going to happen when you select your BluRay ISO in XBMC, XBMC looks at the playercorefactory.xml file. This then looks at the PlayISO.bat file which tells Virtual Clone Drive to mount the ISO and then tells MPC-HC to launch. MPC-HC uses ffdshow audio to send the HD audio to your amp.

Once the movie is finished and you exit MPC-HC the ISO unmounts and you are taken back to XBMC.

It seems very complicated, but once working, it works fine.

I just wish I could paste images into this tread so that

Hopefully I haven't forgotten anything..

Thanks to all those who have helped. Nearly all the above info has been pulled from various threads on this site so KUDOS to all who have spent time working this out.

Cheers
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-20 09:10 by getafix.)
find quote
Killus3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hi,
I trying to set advancedsettings.xml and playercorefactory.xml as say you..but doesn't work fine...

This is PlayIso.bat as I have set:

Quote:"C:\Program Files (x86)\Elaborate Bytes\VirtualCloneDrive\VCDMount.exe" /d=0 "%1"
choice /T 5 /D y > nul
"C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD11\PowerDVD11.exe" "F:\BDMV\index.object"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Elaborate Bytes\VirtualCloneDrive\VCDMount.exe" /d=0 /u

This is my advancedsettings.xml :

Quote:<advancedsettings>
<video>
<defaultplayer>externalplayer</defaultplayer>
</video>
<externalplayer>
<filename>C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD11\PowerDVD11.exe</filename>
<args>-fs</args>
<forceontop>true</forceontop>
<hidexbmc>true</hidexbmc>
<hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
<hidecursor>false</hidecursor>
</externalplayer>
</advancedsettings>

and this is my playercorefactory.xml

Quote:<playercorefactory>
<players>
<player name="PowerDVD" type="ExternalPlayer" audio="false" video="true">
<filename>C:\FOR_XBMC\BATCH_FILES\PlayIso.bat </filename>
<args>"{1}" /fullscreen /close</args>
<hidexbmc>false</hidexbmc>
<hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
<warpcursor>none</warpcursor>
</player>
</players>
<rules action="prepend">
<rule filetypes="iso" filename=".*bluray.*" player="PowerDVD"/>
</rules>
</playercorefactory>


but when I go to xbmc and play the bluray iso I have an error:

[Image: screen1jh.th.png]

[Image: screen2nw.th.png]

[Image: screen3pw.th.png]


Why? The unit letter of virtual drive made by VCD is F: as you can see in this screen:

[Image: screen4m.th.png]
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Sorry, but your pics are to small. I cannot see the erros.

One thing that I am guessing by your first error is that you have spacings in your directories and/or file names. I haven't worked this out yet, but you can't have spaces.

eg.

\\NAS\my movies\terminator 2\terminator 2.bluray.iso needs to be
\\NAS\my_movies\terminator_2\terminator_2.bluray.iso

as for the other errors, I can't see whats happening.

Also, I have not tested this on powerdvd, so I am not sure if you paths and syntax's are correct in the relevant files.

regards
find quote
Killus3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
click on the pics and you cann zoom its... Smile
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Sorry, my bad. I had pop-ups disabled - I can see better now.

Ok, the first error seems like you have spaces in you directory path.

Let me guess, your path is D:\bluray movies. or something like that. If that is the case, place a _ between bluray and movies and all other spaces you have in this path as well as sub directories and file names. Also don't forget to add .bluray into your file name. EG: terminator.bluray.iso

The second error, I can't understand your native language, but what OS are you running?
I am not sure why you are getting a choice error. I will look into it.
But what I can see is that I made an error in my batch file. It should read index.bdmv at the end of the 3rd line.
I will edit the original post to make the changes.


I think your 3rd error has to do with the 2nd error.

Try these out and see how it goes

Try that an let me know
find quote
Killus3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
getafix Wrote:Sorry, but your pics are to small. I cannot see the erros.

One thing that I am guessing by your first error is that you have spacings in your directories and/or file names. I haven't worked this out yet, but you can't have spaces.

eg.

\\NAS\my movies\terminator 2\terminator 2.bluray.iso needs to be
\\NAS\my_movies\terminator_2\terminator_2.bluray.iso

as for the other errors, I can't see whats happening.

Also, I have not tested this on powerdvd, so I am not sure if you paths and syntax's are correct in the relevant files.

regards

Now it works!!!!
Great!!!

thanks very much!!!

I can avoid that see Windows 7 bar during the execution of .bat?

I use Windows 7 Ultimate x64.
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Killus3 Wrote:Now it works!!!!
Great!!!

thanks very much!!!

I can avoid that see Windows 7 bar during the execution of .bat?

I use Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

Good stuff - glad I could help

Maybe try and autohide the task bar - I haven't tried but give it a bash
find quote
dvpmike Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
getafix Wrote:Good stuff - glad I could help

Maybe try and autohide the task bar - I haven't tried but give it a bash

Nice tutorial but i have a question
everything works fine for me but once powerdvd launches the movie never played and then the iso get unmounted. I'm actually trying this on a 3D bluray iso. do i need to force the resolution?
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
dvpmike Wrote:Nice tutorial but i have a question
everything works fine for me but once powerdvd launches the movie never played and then the iso get unmounted. I'm actually trying this on a 3D bluray iso. do i need to force the resolution?

How did you create the batch files. Post your file and lets have a look.
find quote
dvpmike Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
getafix Wrote:How did you create the batch files. Post your file and lets have a look.

PlayIso.bat
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Elaborate Bytes\VirtualCloneDrive\VCDMount.exe" /d=0 "%1"
choice /T 5 /D y > nul
"C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD10\PowerDVD10.exe" "D:\BDMV\index.object"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Elaborate Bytes\VirtualCloneDrive\VCDMount.exe" /d=0 /u
find quote
Killus3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
getafix Wrote:Good stuff - glad I could help

Maybe try and autohide the task bar - I haven't tried but give it a bash

DONE!!!it's ok!!

now I have another problem...Now xbmc play files with .mkv extension with powerdvd and try to mount this file as a iso bluray following the .bat...why?

I'm sure isn't "bluray" word in directory path of the mkv file...
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Killus3 Wrote:DONE!!!it's ok!!

now I have another problem...Now xbmc play files with .mkv extension with powerdvd and try to mount this file as a iso bluray following the .bat...why?

I'm sure isn't "bluray" word in directory path of the mkv file...

mmm, I have noticed that as well.

It might be something with the playercorefactory.xml file.

Let me look into it - as I also need to resolve this for myself.
find quote
Post Reply