Buffering, file limit and MKVs
Memphiz Wrote:i would appreciate any help with easy howtos in the wiki ... last geeky years seem to have killed my sense of userfriendly descriptions Wink. I just didn't want to forget the technical background for getting nfs to work with xbmc - i think that is why the nfs wiki is what it is now ... technical Wink

Memphiz, well said. I used to be a highly geeky technical writer in a "past life", but I'm now a professional editor; and I can tell you that the one big thing I've learned is that is the sign of a great writer is the ability to say "I would appreciate help with my writing" Nod So many writers just get defensive about their writing, which does no one any good. In the end, the goal is to communicate well to readers...the goal isn't supposed to be about proving anything to anybody.

And you're right--the technical end of it is definitely important as well. For instance, if someone has a less standard setup at home, the technical descriptions of how things work are definitely needed.

For most "average" people though, some simple how-to's would probably suffice.

Tell you what--is the wiki able to be edited by people like me? Or would I need special permission? Or would it be easier to send you (or someone else in a position of "wiki authority") material and let you folks post it? Because I'm thinking, why don't we edit that NFS page and leave it exactly as-is, except at the beginning we could have in-page links to a couple of sections at the bottom called "How-To's: Setting Up NFS On Various Common NAS's" and "Troubleshooting: Common Things To Look For When Things Go Wrong With NFS", or something like that. I would be happy to write up some things on that score if it would be any help. It looks like user "stubbed" was also volunteering to contribute material. I would also be happy to edit whatever winds up being posted (it's what I do in real life).
- Amazon FireTV Stick 4K running latest stable Kodi version