[QNAP] NFS Guide now in Wiki

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #16
referring your wiki nas nfs howtos - you seem to suggest editing the /etc/exports file directly. I thought that i've read somewhere that these changes would be overwritten on each reboot of the nas (qnap or synology or both) no? Just wanted to be sure that this would be mentioned on the wiki then ... sorry if it is in already - i just hadn't the time to read it :/

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 687
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #17
Memphiz Wrote:referring your wiki nas nfs howtos - you seem to suggest editing the /etc/exports file directly. I thought that i've read somewhere that these changes would be overwritten on each reboot of the nas (qnap or synology or both) no? Just wanted to be sure that this would be mentioned on the wiki then ... sorry if it is in already - i just hadn't the time to read it :/

ohhh, I see what you're saying, got it now--thanks for explaining.

No, the changes that need to be made to the Synology /etc/exports file (which do have to be made manually, unfortunately) aren't overwritten on reboot. I'm not sure about the QNAP, but I'd imagine it's the same.

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Frodo (final version)
- Macbook Pro, running OSX Mountain Lion
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
mbriody Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
canadave Wrote:ohhh, I see what you're saying, got it now--thanks for explaining.

No, the changes that need to be made to the Synology /etc/exports file (which do have to be made manually, unfortunately) aren't overwritten on reboot. I'm not sure about the QNAP, but I'd imagine it's the same.

Unfortunately not. After a reboot on the QNAP all the changes are lost.

This is a problem because I have automated shutdown every night with a restart each evening.

I wonder what is overwriting the changes to /etc/init.d/nfs ?
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 687
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #19
mbriody Wrote:Unfortunately not. After a reboot on the QNAP all the changes are lost.

This is a problem because I have automated shutdown every night with a restart each evening.

I wonder what is overwriting the changes to /etc/init.d/nfs ?

Oops Smile I stand corrected! I'll add a caution to the wiki under the QNAP section. It's too bad that that gets wiped during a reboot.

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Frodo (final version)
- Macbook Pro, running OSX Mountain Lion
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #20
I already told cranial (who did the qnap wiki entry?) multiple times that this wouldn't happen if he was using "/etc/config/nfssetting" for adding the insecure flag. But he doesn't seem to think so or i just googled wrong. :/

here is my post according to this:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=872...stcount=12

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
(This post was last modified: 2011-09-07 09:14 by Memphiz.)
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 738
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #21
Memphiz Wrote:I already told cranial (who did the qnap wiki entry?) multiple times that this wouldn't happen if he was using "/etc/config/nfssetting" for adding the insecure flag. But he doesn't seem to think so or i just googled wrong. :/

here is my post according to this:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=872...stcount=12

You told me Memphiz, and I read two posts further down thinking the easier fix would work. I was wrong. My bad. I'll check it out now and alter the Wiki accordingly.

*edit*

Memphiz, I'm sorry. I must have totally misread the post you linked me to the first time I read it. It's an easy fix, I'll do some testing and see if it holds up on multiple reboots. Thanks.
(This post was last modified: 2011-09-07 10:25 by Cranial.)
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 738
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #22
Okay. I've edited the Wiki, with the proper settings advised by Memphiz, which I should have followed first Blush

Changed from Step #10 on.

When someone tries the updated wiki and confirms the settings survive a reboot (they did for me) I'll remove the big red reboot warnings from the Wiki.
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 687
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #23
Hey, the important thing is that it's there now Smile Thanks for getting the info in there.

Incidentally, you don't need to put the HTML <br> line breaks throughout the wiki...you can just skip a blank line. Cleaner, easier to read when editing the wiki, etc. Wink I went through and changed it accordingly...also you can sometimes skip two blank lines just to make it a little more readable after graphics. Sometimes there'll be a graphic, an instruction step, and another graphic, and unless you put a couple of blank lines in there, it's unclear which graphic the step is referring to. Check it out and see how I changed it; might make it a little easier on you for next edit.

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Frodo (final version)
- Macbook Pro, running OSX Mountain Lion
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,159
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #24
Cranial Wrote:You told me Memphiz, and I read two posts further down thinking the easier fix would work. I was wrong. My bad. I'll check it out now and alter the Wiki accordingly.

*edit*

Memphiz, I'm sorry. I must have totally misread the post you linked me to the first time I read it. It's an easy fix, I'll do some testing and see if it holds up on multiple reboots. Thanks.

no prob dude ... didn't want to sound angry or so ... i just didn't know why you ignored it Wink.

So now that this is cleared ... cookies for all ...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 687
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #25
Memphiz Wrote:So now that this is cleared ... cookies for all ...
You know, I have a theory that all the world's problems can be solved with cookies Smile I mean, how can anyone be angry or want to kill anyone if they're eating a cookie?

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Frodo (final version)
- Macbook Pro, running OSX Mountain Lion
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
welshdiver Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Just got it working on a TS-210

Thought I'd try and help with a tiny correction, most would figure it out themselves I'm sure

Tiny error step 10.

I think it should read

10. Now type vi /etc/config/nfssetting

rather than

10. Now type vi /etc/config/nfssettings

Also for those not familiar with vi

:wq to save and quit

I'd edit the wiki, but don't have access having never contributed before.

Thanks for the guide - it was a great help.
(This post was last modified: 2011-09-07 18:51 by welshdiver.)
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 738
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #27
welshdiver Wrote:Just got it working on a TS-210

Thought I'd try and help with a tiny correction, most would figure it out themselves I'm sure

Tiny error step 10.

I think it should read

10. Now type vi /etc/config/nfssetting

rather than

10. Now type vi /etc/config/nfssettings

Also for those not familiar with vi

:wq to save and quit

I'd edit the wiki, but don't have access having never contributed before.

Thanks for the guide - it was a great help.

Thanks Underwater Welshman. I'll fix it up now.
find quote
Cranial Offline
Fan
Posts: 738
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #28
canadave Wrote:Hey, the important thing is that it's there now Smile Thanks for getting the info in there.

Incidentally, you don't need to put the HTML <br> line breaks throughout the wiki...you can just skip a blank line. Cleaner, easier to read when editing the wiki, etc. Wink I went through and changed it accordingly...also you can sometimes skip two blank lines just to make it a little more readable after graphics. Sometimes there'll be a graphic, an instruction step, and another graphic, and unless you put a couple of blank lines in there, it's unclear which graphic the step is referring to. Check it out and see how I changed it; might make it a little easier on you for next edit.

Ha, I only started using the line breaks as they were in the Synology wiki I shamelessly copied from Wink

Thanks for cleaning it up Canadave. I've cleaned up some errors I made regarding vi that were pointed out, and I've added some external links regarding vi and SSH.
find quote
canadave Offline
Fan
Posts: 687
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 16
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Post: #29
Cranial Wrote:Ha, I only started using the line breaks as they were in the Synology wiki I shamelessly copied from Wink

Thanks for cleaning it up Canadave. I've cleaned up some errors I made regarding vi that were pointed out, and I've added some external links regarding vi and SSH.

LOL...yeah, I initially had the br's in the Synology part, then found out about using blank lines instead; so I guess you must have shamelessly copied after I changed it all Smile

Good work on the QNAP side!

- ATV2 4.4.4 (iOS 5.0.1) build 9A406a, running Frodo (final version)
- Macbook Pro, running OSX Mountain Lion
- Skin: reFocus
- Connecting to MySQL database on Synology DS411+ NAS via NFS.
find quote
reddwarf355 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
Maybe a nice feature to add to the really nice wiki about NFS

just add the insecure option also to /mnt/HDA_ROOT/.config/nfssetting


"/share/MD0_DATA/Public" *(rw,async,no_root_squash)
[Access]
/share/MD0_DATA/Qdownload = rw,insecure
[AllowIP]
/share/MD0_DATA/Qdownload = *

Did not try a firmware update though...


Cheers red
find quote
Post Reply