Virus Protection what do you use?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 916
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #31
I use Avast.

I used to like it a lot, but the latest version (update) introduced too many offers and services I am not interested in (WTH is Webrep??) and it even spammed me once through a pop up alert (If it does it again, it's gone!!)
find quote
Cash Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
I used Norton 5 years ago and was the best thing around but it was a resourse hog and got bloated more and more with each new version. I now use ESET, with zone alarm firewall. And a free copy of Spybot. In my opinion these are a great combo..
find quote
DejaVu Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,159
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #33
Avast Free. No issues with it ever and it found infected files Norton ignored.
Along with Malwarebytes. Not had any nasties in years!

If I was going to pay for one, it would be ESET NOD32.

The rest are all too commercialized and don't live up to the hype.

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
Maraschino - Web based HTPC Organiser. Keep track of all your web based programs all in one place.
Home Page - Repo - Bug Tracker - Support Forum.
find quote
Tobby Offline
Fan
Posts: 459
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #34
Avast
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #35
i use nothing at home, and i turn off all update options. i use pc forever, and i never have any trouble with it and i never have pc die on me either. i owns almost 10 pc's at work, and i hate all the protections and updates by our it team there.

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Xeno43 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
No active anti virus, Anti Malwarebytes + Spybot: Search and Destroy every once in a while...
find quote
Geeba Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,797
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #37
MSE and as Jezz said - common sense... dont surf porno, skank stuff and execute junk software on your HTPC!

Does make me laugh when people still waffle on about blue screens and vulnerable windows... I cant remember the last time I had ether.... cars used to have drum brakes and cross-ply tyres but things improve. my Linux and Hack are just as much a pain in their own ways.
find quote
contentedbloke Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
Sophos
find quote
claudiomet Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Chile
Post: #39
Avast in silent mode
find quote
tcman47 Offline
Fan
Posts: 426
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Naperville, IL
Post: #40
Avast free edition, when running a media computer you want a small footprint for the antivirus, Avast has been great.

Loft - Intel I5-3570K, Asus P8Z77-LX, Corsair 16GB DDR3, AMD HD 7700, AOC 27" LCD
Bedroom - Intel I3-530, Intel DH55HC, Corsair 4GB DDR3, Nvidia G610, Samsung 37" HDTV
Living Room - Intel E8400, Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H, 4GB DDR2, Nvidia G610, Samsung 52" HDTV
find quote
baldmosher Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Salford, UK
Post: #41
Crumbs, I use all kinds of stuff like this. I'm a resource hog. It's largely unnecessary but I tend to be unnecessarily paranoid.

SpyBot every so often for the safety net (not TeaTimer - crap)
AdAware every so often for safety's sake - although I find it's pretty much useless
AVG as AV (incoming files only - and I quite like the web integration)
and MSE

I ignored an MSE warning (it flagged when I ran a W7 activator Wink ) and I got a virus. Whoops. Serves me right for trying to outsmart M$.

It took Malware Bytes in safe mode to remove it. Nothing else worked. So MB is definitely my remover of choice.

I have been running AVG for a while, which tends to flag things before MSE does. Usually dodgy software that I've downloaded from dodgy places. No idea if MSE would have flagged it anyway if AVG wasn't installed - I suspect it would.

So basically I don't know the answer but if you're looking to keep things simple I would suggest that MSE is generally fine, but if you're not careful you'll be screwed anyway. MSE is installed as standard on W7 so the chances are that someone else will get the problem before you and it'll be fixed in an update.

And then Malware Bytes to fix it when it does go wrong occasionally Big Grin

baldmosher™
Trying to save his marriage with a HTPC
Current system: TV unit, 37PFL5405H, Microserver N40L (as HTPC), Xbox360, BDP-S370, FoxsatHD, Azur 540Rv2, Keysonic 540RF, Harmony 300
Planned W7x64 AMD mATX (HT)PC build: Case, PSU, RAM, Mobo, CPU Total £240 + IR + HSF? + SSD?
(This post was last modified: 2011-12-15 22:48 by baldmosher.)
find quote
lucv13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: London ON Canada
Post: #42
Have used Avast for over 10 years, never a problemSmile
find quote
Julian Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Hurricane Alley, Florida
Post: #43
av - none
malwarebytes and running programs that reach out, in a Sandbox....
find quote
m1mi.dan0s Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
I've been using Avast Free for a while now. But I'm wondering, is it really necessary on a HTPC to use antivirus software if you don't use it for anything else but streaming media from a NAS?

TV: Panasonic L32E5
AVR: Panasonic BTT282
HTPC: Antec Fusion 430 Silver - Antec Earthwatts EA-500D Green - Asrock A75M-HVS - AMD A8-3870K - Scythe Ninja Rev. B - Kingston 2x4 GB 1866Mhz - Crucial M4 SSD 64GB - OS: Windows 8 x64
REMOTE: Logitech Harmony 555
STORAGE: Synology DS211 [2TB]
GAMING: PS3 Classic 80GB
find quote
TugboatBill Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 829
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 7
Post: #45
(2012-09-28 11:58)m1mi.dan0s Wrote:  I've been using Avast Free for a while now. But I'm wondering, is it really necessary on a HTPC to use antivirus software if you don't use it for anything else but streaming media from a NAS?

Not really.
find quote