New to this, advice?
Hi
I am new to both apple TV (got it yesterday) and XBMC (only just used once today on my mac).

I have apple FW 4.4.2 on my apple TV 2 and I am wondering if it is possible to jailbreak and use XBMC on it? I mainly want it for http://flashsportstreams.tv/ and liveonlinefooty.com as they both have apps for XBMC. A lot of my videos are already in Apple TV / iTunes format so that isnt a major issue and not really too bothered about having 1080p or streaming different formats although it would be nice.

So is it possible to do? If so, how?

This tethered thing, does this mean I need to jailbreak it, install XBMC and do all the settings all over again each time it is powered off and back on? Or is it just a case of doing the jailbreak part again to get it to see the XBMC which was installed previously?

I Will be moving it occasionally from my office to the living room, but not much. But saying that, the whole power to my office is shut off at night, so if I have to install everything each time, its a bit of a pain. Please let me know on this as this is my main concern.

Does XBMC work on the new FW? If so, which build / version?

Thanks

Nick
go to http://www.firecore.com and get Sea0nPass - try to JB it and go back to 4.4.3 version.

You could still do it easily yesterday. (but not sure if Apple are still signing the 4.3 build)

If you can't go back to 4.3, you mightl have to wait till Seas0nPass will JB 4.4.2 (if it doesn't work already)
Hi
I don't really want to roll back to 4.3 because I dont want to lose the airplay things.

Does anyone know the answers regarding the Jailbreak when power is turned off etc? Thanks for the reply
If you can JB it at 4.4.2, then follow the thread about 4.4.1 http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=112693
- it should be pretty similar.

This is only a tethered JB - so EVERY time you turn your AppleTV off , then you need your PC/MAC to tether boot it. It's a bit of a pain.