[Mini-ITX] A6-3600 (4x2.1Ghz/2.4Ghz) + HD6530D

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Lejla Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #91
Finally I will buy new hardware, the hardware I buy, I will throw it in the trash.
Could somebody can tell me which hardware works with XBMC Live?
find quote
bluray Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,258
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #92
Lejla Wrote:Finally I will buy new hardware, the hardware I buy, I will throw it in the trash.
Could somebody can tell me which hardware works with XBMC Live?
Why not Patriot Torqx 32GB (SSD) and Windows 7? It might be cheaper and you'll have a bigger SSD too.

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
fifrenzy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #93
I bought the a6-3650 because newegg didn't have the 3600. I noticed the 3650 is a 100w cpu and the 3600 is 65w. Will the 3650 work with the 250w power supply in this build? I'm using a 64GB SSD, 2 2GB 1333 ram sticks and a blu-ray drive.

I would just install the CPU to see if it will work, but then I can't return it to newegg.
find quote
bluray Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,258
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #94
fifrenzy Wrote:I bought the a6-3650 because newegg didn't have the 3600. I noticed the 3650 is a 100w cpu and the 3600 is 65w. Will the 3650 work with the 250w power supply in this build? I'm using a 64GB SSD, 2 2GB 1333 ram sticks and a blu-ray drive.

I would just install the CPU to see if it will work, but then I can't return it to newegg.
250w will be enough and plenty of wattages to spare too!

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
fifrenzy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #95
bluray Wrote:250w will be enough and plenty of wattages to spare too!

Thanks bluray!
find quote
fifrenzy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #96
I just started building my computer with the A6-3650 and found out that the stock heat sink that comes with the CPU won't fit. The heat sink hits the power supply. I'm wondering if there are any heat sinks that will fit this case and offer adequate cooling for the A6-3650? Will the Scythe SCBSK-1000 work?
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #97
u cant use more then a 40mm high cooler...
http://goo.gl/MblNZ
find quote
MrTourettes Offline
Fan
Posts: 330
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 1
Location: Cambridge
Post: #98
@eskro

Thanks for the thread. I have spent some months pondering over what setup to go for, for my new media rig. Basically wanted something to play music, hd movies ( including 3d ), emulators and simple games.

Went for :

Mobo - ASRock A75M-ITX AMD Socket FM1
Cpu - A6-3500
Case - MTX-003B
Ram - Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit CMX4GX3M2A1600C9
Cooler - Scythe Kozuti Low Profile CPU Cooler, SCKZT-1000

Already had a spare SSD laying around and did not bother with dvd / blu-ray drive ( installed from usb ). In total the build cost me about £210.

Still got some tweeking to do but it rocks. Does everything I need and more.

Thanks again.
find quote
fifrenzy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #99
eskro Wrote:u cant use more then a 40mm high cooler...
http://goo.gl/MblNZ
Thanks eskro. You might want to add a note to this build that the stock cpu heatsink won't fit. I would have probably bought a different case if I knew I was going to have to drop cost to $40 on a cpu heatsink.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #100
but the thing is, the 65w tdp fm1 stock cooler does fit in the mi-008 case
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-28 23:02 by eskro.)
find quote
jamesk9 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #101
Fifrenzy.. I think you made the same mistake I did, as Eskro said, the 65w a6-3600 will work with the stock HSF that it comes with. I bought the a6-3650 instead (because the prices were basically the same) Problem is that the 3650 is a 100w tdp and therefore comes with a taller HSF.

His build calls for a a6-3600 which will work, but the a6-3650 that we bought wont work with its stock fan. Had we followed the build to a "t" we would have $40 more in our pocket.. Lesson learned.

And yes the SCBSK-1000 fits perfect.
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-29 12:08 by jamesk9.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #102
jamesk9 Wrote:His build calls for a a6-3600 which will work, but the a6-3650 that we bought wont work with its stock fan. Had we followed the build to a "t" we would have $40 more in our pocket.. Lesson learned.

thats why i link to parts i know that fits together in my HTPC guide.
find quote
jj19790 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #103
Hi guys very very new to all this so bare with me, had XBMC on laptop, that died so bought AppleTV 2nd Gen, not liked it so sold it ! Now decided to go for my first build!!!!

Win 7
1080p playback
Aeon
Wanting to future proof it a little and maybe 1080p 3d at later date

Thinking of the following any comments welcome

CPU/GPU = AMD A6 X4 3650 = £70.03
MOBO = ASROCK A75M-ITX = £50.42
Memory = Kingston KHX1600C9D3X2K2/4GX = £19.92
Case + PSU = CIT MTX003B CASE- ITX- 300W = £32.00

Total £172.37

Got a couple of old harddrive hanging around so using those for the time being but will eventually will go for SSD

Would you get another CPU cooler/fan rather than use the stock AMD Confused? can i get away with using the stock cooler Confused??

Cheers JJ
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #104
i would get a lower TDP CPU, A6-3500
find quote
jj19790 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #105
Cheers for prompt reply eskro

Don't get me wrong i can get the 3500 for £48 quid so cheaper and if it does the job and I know over and over you said it can on various post .. I have no basis to question yor authority just worried that will it be able to handle any 1080p I throw at if and worried how will it fair with Aeon Skin and fanart ?

Having had some substandard and crap playback from my old Laptop and AppleTV 2nd gen with SD and 720p content and Juddery/ glitchy playback just want to make sure i build something which will seamless play 1080p and do my TV justice !!!!!!!

If i was to go with 3500 would the stock HSF be sufficient?
find quote
Post Reply