Eden Beta update issues

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
g-off Offline
Fan
Posts: 631
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #16
Jester Wrote:http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...Apple_TV_2

or else post your logs (read the stickies)

People - Just follow the wiki guide. It has never been simpler.
find quote
Davidja Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Ive followed the guide as mentioned in my first post. Anyone can help me on this one... And yes it is ATV2
find quote
toshiba1 Offline
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Maybe can you capture the entire text from your Putty session and provide this info to us, that would possibly help.
find quote
SmallwoodDR82 Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #19
i followed wiki step by step and all updated. Now i reboot ATV2 and XBMC isnt on the native Apple list anymore.

hmmmm....thoughts?
find quote
xkamuix Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
This is odd, it seems people are getting Eden Beta to work on ATV2 but i'm not. I've done the apt-get update followed by apt-get upgrade.

I've also followed l2ol33rt suggestion of apt-get update followed by apt-get dist-upgrade.

I've tried updating through NitoTV. All with no luck. Any other ideas by chance?
find quote
dave.fernando Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
xkamuix, I had the same issue, all i did was to do a full install of eden following:http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...htly_build <installing from cydia> option
find quote
Jester Offline
XBMC for iOS* forums Moderator
Posts: 980
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 10
Post: #22
SmallwoodDR82 Wrote:i followed wiki step by step and all updated. Now i reboot ATV2 and XBMC isnt on the native Apple list anymore.

hmmmm....thoughts?

sure, use an untethered JB next time, now you have to re-JB on each reboot.

Current XBMC Platform: ATV2
Extra XBMC Platform: Raspberry Pi
Read the iOS FAQ
find quote
Davidja Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
-sh: Reading: command not found
E: The package cydia needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it.
Apple-TV:~ root# wget -O- http://apt.awkwardtv.org/awkwardtv.pub | apt-key add -
Apple-TV:~ root# Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: The package cydia needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it .
Apple-TV:~ root# apt-get install wget
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: The package cydia needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it.
Apple-TV:~ root# wget -O- http://apt.awkwardtv.org/awkwardtv.pub | apt-key add -
--2011-12-27 20:30:13-- http://apt.awkwardtv.org/awkwardtv.pub
Resolving apt.awkwardtv.org... 74.208.75.216
-sh: Building: command not found
Connecting to apt.awkwardtv.org|74.208.75.216|:80... connected.
Apple-TV:~ root# Reading state information... Done
E: The package cydia needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it .
Apple-TV:~ root# apt-get install wget
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: The package cydia needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it.
Apple-TV:~ root# wget -O- http://apt.awkwardtv.org/awkwardtv.pub | apt-key add -
--2011-12-27 20:30:13-- http://apt.awkwardtv.org/awkwardtv.pub
Resolving apt.awkwardtv.org... 74.208.75.216
Connecting to apt.awkwardtv.org|74.208.75.216|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1698 (1.7K) [text/plain]
-sh: Reading: command not found
Saving to: `STDOUT'
Apple-TV:~ root# E: The package cydia needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it .
find quote
xkamuix Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Awesome thanks for the suggestion will try it now! Just was worried about possibly breaking the MySQL connection doing it that way.

I'm sure it'll be fine. Thanks!
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,202
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #25
Jester Wrote:sure, use an untethered JB next time, now you have to re-JB on each reboot.

A tethered jailbreak won't let you boot at all, so that shouldn't be the issue here. The issue could be a bad jailbreak, though.
find quote
art76 Offline
Donor
Posts: 55
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #26
Just updated mine via Nito tonight.
First I went into Nito settings and hit update there, it rebooted, then went into Nito Install Applications, XBMC and it saw the Eden update there and off she went.
I was running a nightly from a few weeks back prior.

ATV2 is running nice with my mysql db, although any db updates would have come from my htpc i updated earlier tonight.
Otherwise a nice and trouble free update all round it seems.

Big Grin

a.
--------
Win/ATV2/RaspBMC | MySQL | XBMC
(This post was last modified: 2011-12-28 14:08 by art76.)
find quote
Opture Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
Is it possible that this repository is down at the moment and that is causing the problem ?
find quote
ahatheway Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
xkamuix - there is a difference. It's not apt-get upgrade. It has the "diet-" in there:

From the terminal try doing:

apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade

dist-upgrade will install any new dependencies required for the new version of xbmc. This just worked for me.
find quote
ronszon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Hi,

I am running atv2 build (4.3 8F455) jailbroken with seas0npass. Everything was running smoothly until today. I had installed XBMC, nitotv, plex-client.

I have updated xbmc today using apt-get update && apt-get upgrade and things got wrong.

First, I did not get the frontrow screen at all. I found nitotv to give the trouble, removed it (don't use it either way). Removed plex-client on the way (don't use it either).

Now frontrow shows up, however, without XBMC button. The syslog shows
Code:
"Dec 28 13:37:09 Apple-TV AppleTV[36]: Failed to allow loading of appliance /Applications/AppleTV.app/Appliances//XBMC.frappliance"

Any idea what can cause that?

Below I link pasted /var/log/syslog (since last boot) and /var/log/apt/term.log as xbmc.log has nothing from today (xbmc was never started).

/var/log/syslog: http://pastebin.com/039M9UNU
/var/log/apt/term.log: http://pastebin.com/8pNmcUjX


Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2011-12-28 15:18 by ronszon.)
find quote
jhonny30 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #30
Hi,
I am running a pre11 build (23june) and thinking about going to Eden beta.
Updating seems very easy, so i just wanted to know if i will have to re-install my addons after the update (icefilms and subtitles) or if the update to Eden will keep my repos and addons and my library (of course!!)Confused?

Secondly is there a buffering improvement with eden, because right now i experience a lot of stuttering and buffering with tvshows. To be exact, there are days when there is no buffering at all and some days i have a lot of them. I don't understand why, because there isn't anything i change in between these days... (I am on Wifi and watch 720p)

So perhaps Eden will be better for itConfused

Thanks
find quote
Post Reply