Any way to reduce the filesize of VDR recordings?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Hopelessone Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I have TV_file.ts and its about 1.3g, any way to set it to another encoding format? like H264 MP4 codec? or other compressed file format?

Or do you think use an video editor to trim the file then convert it in one go? If so which one for Linux?

Many Many Thanks

Ubuntu 13.10 64bit
find quote
ant_thomas Offline
Fan
Posts: 424
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #2
You will have to reencode it yourself if you want it to be smaller.

VDR just dumps the broadcast stream in full quality (as it should). So if you record a HD channel it's going to be usually be in H264 and pretty big! If it's SD it'll usually be in MPEG2 and smaller.

How well any transcoding whilst recording will work totally depends on the speed of the system doing the job. It can be quite a CPU intensive job.

Personally I find the best option is to have a reasonable sized hard drive to record on and then just delete after watching.
find quote
LastCoder Offline
Fan
Posts: 434
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
if I want to keep recordings I transcode them (up to 80% compression ratio) - if you use Windows take "Freemake Video Converter" which has excellent GPU-acceleration, with Linux try "Handbrake" or "Arista Transcoder" (unfortunately without GPU acceleration, but hope GStreamer an ffmpeg will add it soon) .. but if your PC has enough power you can add all the recordings to a queue in the morning and let it trancode the stuff in background while watching TV or using XBMC.

This works fine on my Celeron G530 with 4 GB RAM ..

Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Server, Xfce, XBMC Gotham, Skin reFred, tvheadend tv backend
ASUS P8H61-M LE/USB3, Celeron G530, Geforce 210, 4 GB DDR3 RAM
16 GB CnMemory 300x CF, 1 TB Samsung 2,5" HDD
iHOS104 BluRay Drive, TT DVBS2-1600
Silverstone GD05B Case, Sony PS3 BD Remote control, Logitech Cordless Mediaboard Pro for PS3
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-14 10:36 by LastCoder.)
find quote
hotlobster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Paris FR
Post: #4
Here are the Handbrake parameters I use under linux to recode hdtv streams, and deinterlace them.

script: encodehdtv2mkv.sh:

HandBrakeCLI -i $1 -t 1 -o $2 -f mkv -w 1280 -l 720 --deinterlace="slower" --decomb -Z "High Profile" -E ac3 -2 -a $3 -T -r 25

call it like this:

./encodehdtv2mkv.sh sourcefile outputfile audiotrack
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-14 16:16 by hotlobster.)
find quote
LastCoder Offline
Fan
Posts: 434
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
ah, nice to see ! Will try it, didn't know that there is a console command for handbrake .. makes the conversation process easier than using the GUI ..

Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Server, Xfce, XBMC Gotham, Skin reFred, tvheadend tv backend
ASUS P8H61-M LE/USB3, Celeron G530, Geforce 210, 4 GB DDR3 RAM
16 GB CnMemory 300x CF, 1 TB Samsung 2,5" HDD
iHOS104 BluRay Drive, TT DVBS2-1600
Silverstone GD05B Case, Sony PS3 BD Remote control, Logitech Cordless Mediaboard Pro for PS3
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #6
hotlobster Wrote:Here are the Handbrake parameters I use under linux to recode hdtv streams, and deinterlace them.


HandBrakeCLI -i $1 -t 1 -o $2 -f mkv -w 1280 -l 720 --deinterlace="slower" --decomb -Z "High Profile" -E ac3 -2 -a $3 -T -r 25

How long does it take to encode 1 hour with those parameter ? What is your cpu ?

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
hotlobster Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Paris FR
Post: #7
It's an old core 2 duo 3ghz , and it encodes at around 8 fps, so around 4h30 for a 90mn movie.
find quote