cpu core 100% on idle

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ericab Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #46
you could script it;

stick this in /etc/rc.local:

(sleep 20; kill -9 `pidof upstart-udev-br`)&
find quote
mason Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #47
I experience the same, finally got my replacement from pulse-eight and start using it again. The adapter is to blame for the 100% udev process, can reproduce it with oneiric but don't know how to fix it yet. (yeah you can kill it, but I like to eliminate the root cause).
find quote
DanLongman Offline
XBMC lover
Posts: 54
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Post: #48
(2012-03-23 15:39)mason Wrote:  I experience the same, finally got my replacement from pulse-eight and start using it again. The adapter is to blame for the 100% udev process, can reproduce it with oneiric but don't know how to fix it yet. (yeah you can kill it, but I like to eliminate the root cause).

Same.
find quote
mason Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #49
Seems if found a fix, there a bug with upstart logged. They found it through some laptop battery problem (check out the thread), but it seems to apply to me also.
I installed it and everything seems normal, even readding the receiver looks good which resulted in a reproducable 100% CPU load before.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sourc...omments/32
find quote
DanLongman Offline
XBMC lover
Posts: 54
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Post: #50
Awesome thanks Mason! I just installed the update, Will have to wait till i get home to test it out and make sure issue is fixed, But I am pretty sure its good now! yay!
find quote
DanLongman Offline
XBMC lover
Posts: 54
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Post: #51
Just did the update, and can confirm this fixed my problem Big Grin
find quote
ericab Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #52
so; anyone have a clue whats going with my setup Confused

i created a thread here:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=126259
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 11,072
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 158
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #53
(2012-03-24 04:47)ericab Wrote:  so; anyone have a clue whats going with my setup Confused

i created a thread here:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=126259

Have you tried the same as the guys before you adviced?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
ericab Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #54
i havent;

im running openelec, .deb's wont cut it for me, and im not advanced enough to build a build environment on openelec to try it
find quote
TobiasTheCommie Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 618
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 6
Post: #55
(2012-03-24 05:05)ericab Wrote:  i havent;

im running openelec, .deb's wont cut it for me, and im not advanced enough to build a build environment on openelec to try it

You could install xbmcbuntu allongside your OE, and try the patch above... Not sure if your SSD is that big, but it should be able to accomedate two small installs like that.
find quote
preppie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
(2012-03-23 20:38)mason Wrote:  Seems if found a fix, there a bug with upstart logged. They found it through some laptop battery problem (check out the thread), but it seems to apply to me also.
I installed it and everything seems normal, even readding the receiver looks good which resulted in a reproducable 100% CPU load before.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sourc...omments/32

+1 on this. Was going crazy over 100% cpu load in idle. Using the Motorola Nyxboard and this fix took care of the problems.

Thanks!
find quote
Baswazz Offline
Fan
Posts: 374
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #57
I got the same problem. Just upgraded to AMD Fusion. With my old ION system and XBMC Eden i did not have this problem.
I just emailed with Pulse Eight. So they are aware of this now. Thx for the fix, i will look in to it.

Frontend : Running on AMD Fusion A6-3500
Frontend : Raspberry PI (Raspbmc)
Remote : Motorola Nyxboard Hybrid (revised) / Boxee remote
Ziggo TV Channel Logo Pack (Dutch)
find quote
Jahon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
(2012-04-19 22:16)Baswazz Wrote:  I got the same problem. Just upgraded to AMD Fusion. With my old ION system and XBMC Eden i did not have this problem.
I just emailed with Pulse Eight. So they are aware of this now. Thx for the fix, i will look in to it.

I'm having this same problem. Disabling RSS feeds seemed to help, but its still killing my cpu on Fusion with Eden. Didn't have this problem until I did a fresh install on Ubuntu 12.04 server.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-02 07:04 by Jahon.)
find quote
jervine Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #59
Can you attach an strace to the xbmc.bin process? I've got my own compiled version of xbmc with xvba extensions (the eden branch from FernetManta's git tree) and it pegs a CPU core at 100%. It may or may not be the same problem as it might be my compile that is the problem. My strace just shows a TUNER_SET_CONFIG call repeating rapidly.
find quote
gastar Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #60
Hi,

I'm having the same problem here:

ioctl(20, TUNER_SET_CONFIG, 0x7fff1d3d67a0) = 0

100% CPU load when there is nothing to do for xbmc. I use the xvdr pvr client from https://github.com/pipelka
find quote