Linux - AudioEngine testers - Linux only

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
rat666 Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #556
(2012-10-11 08:43)krip Wrote:  
(2012-10-08 21:56)rat666 Wrote:  i´ve made a log File during the playback of an HDCD coded track (about 30 sec.)
hope i made it right and it helps: pastebin

Hi Rat666,

I posted about a similar issue to yours (post #417 in this thread), but so far didnt receive any feedback.

My setup is fairly similar to yours: SPDIF from xbmc pc to rotel RSP1066 receiver. I also experience drop outs when playing -some- FLAC files. Reading your post made me wonder if the problematic files might be HDCD encoded but Im not sure how to tell (they seem to include some +/- db settings when comparing to flac files that work. Is this HDCD?).

I noticed I can play back the problematic files without dropouts if I switch the receiver from 2 channel stereo to 5 channel stereo. Maybe you can test this on your setup?

Hi Krip,

the dropouts occur only when the Rotel is switching between HDCD and PCM 2 CH, the came frome the Rotel.
i have no Dropouts during the Playback of a normal (non HDCD coded) Track, sometimes i have some little pops (like with a scratched cd in a cd player) and in some cases i noticed a distortion. it sounds a little like my old overdriven recorded Crome Tapes when i was 15 jears old.

Changing the Speaker from 5.1 to 2.0 has no effect in my Case.

i also had the RSP 1066 and it can decode HDCD like my 1069, so it should show HDCD in the Display when you stream a HDCD coded Flac.
If you need a HDCD Sample File, i can provide you one via my Dropbox.

I thing AE doesn´t give a bitidentical Stream to the Rotel. Without ReplayGain it is almost bitidentical (it seams to have only an "incorrect bit" every few seconds, that makes the Rotel change from HDCD to PCM). With ReplayGain enabled it never switches to HDCD and the Sound is different to the sound from my Oppo Player (to be honest, the oppo sounds clearly better then XBMC AE with SPDIF or HDMI when ReplayGain is enabled).
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-11 21:55 by rat666.)
find quote
Tyler Durden Offline
Fan
Posts: 300
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #557
I am having a problem playing Stereo files. For example FLAC and MP3 audio files.

I have the latest generic build of Openelec Audio Engine, R12126 on my HTPC, hooked up via HDMI to my Denon AVR2310 Amp.

Multichannel movies and TV Shows work fine, but when I try to playback any stereo files I get silence. The files seems to be playing okay on as XBMC shows the track number and duration counter, and when showing the "now playing" screen everything looks fine, but I hear nothing.

Here is my debug log.

http://paste2.org/p/2324308

Can anyone help?

Trying the same thing on the Openelec 2.0 RC1 and stereo works perfectly but I lose HD Audio, so I assume this must have something to do with AudioEngine.
find quote
krip Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #558
(2012-10-11 21:02)rat666 Wrote:  
(2012-10-11 08:43)krip Wrote:  
(2012-10-08 21:56)rat666 Wrote:  i´ve made a log File during the playback of an HDCD coded track (about 30 sec.)
hope i made it right and it helps: pastebin

Hi Rat666,

I posted about a similar issue to yours (post #417 in this thread), but so far didnt receive any feedback.

My setup is fairly similar to yours: SPDIF from xbmc pc to rotel RSP1066 receiver. I also experience drop outs when playing -some- FLAC files. Reading your post made me wonder if the problematic files might be HDCD encoded but Im not sure how to tell (they seem to include some +/- db settings when comparing to flac files that work. Is this HDCD?).

I noticed I can play back the problematic files without dropouts if I switch the receiver from 2 channel stereo to 5 channel stereo. Maybe you can test this on your setup?

Hi Krip,

the dropouts occur only when the Rotel is switching between HDCD and PCM 2 CH, the came frome the Rotel.
i have no Dropouts during the Playback of a normal (non HDCD coded) Track, sometimes i have some little pops (like with a scratched cd in a cd player) and in some cases i noticed a distortion. it sounds a little like my old overdriven recorded Crome Tapes when i was 15 jears old.

Changing the Speaker from 5.1 to 2.0 has no effect in my Case.

i also had the RSP 1066 and it can decode HDCD like my 1069, so it should show HDCD in the Display when you stream a HDCD coded Flac.
If you need a HDCD Sample File, i can provide you one via my Dropbox.

I thing AE doesn´t give a bitidentical Stream to the Rotel. Without ReplayGain it is almost bitidentical (it seams to have only an "incorrect bit" every few seconds, that makes the Rotel change from HDCD to PCM). With ReplayGain enabled it never switches to HDCD and the Sound is different to the sound from my Oppo Player (to be honest, the oppo sounds clearly better then XBMC AE with SPDIF or HDMI when ReplayGain is enabled).

Hi Rat666,

With more testing I now confirm the same issue as you. My problematic flac files are all HDCD encoded. On the rotel rsp1066 switching to 5-channel stereo disables hdcd decoding as per the manual, and then hdcd encoded flacs play ok, but in 2 channel stereo mode they suffer dropout every few seconds.
find quote
Flanhare Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #559
(2012-10-11 10:00)notz Wrote:  After updating from Eden to Frodo (nightly) my sound device is not relased bei xbmc (disabled gui sounds, navigation sound etc.).

In debug.log i got following entries every 10 seconds:
Code:
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG: CSoftAE::Run - Sink restart flagged
04:23:27 T:140681139398400    INFO: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - sink incompatible, re-starting
04:23:27 T:140681139398400    INFO: CAESinkALSA::Initialize - Attempting to open device "@:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0"
04:23:27 T:140681139398400    INFO: CAESinkALSA::Initialize - Opened device "front:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0"
04:23:27 T:140681139398400    INFO: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Your hardware does not support AE_FMT_FLOAT, trying other formats
04:23:27 T:140681139398400    INFO: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Using data format AE_FMT_S32NE
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Request: periodSize 512, periods 16, bufferSize 8192
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Got: periodSize 512, periods 16, bufferSize 8192
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::InitializeHW - Setting timeout to 186 ms
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - ALSA Initialized:
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Output Device : HDA NVidia
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Sample Rate   : 44100
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Sample Format : AE_FMT_S32NE
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Channel Count : 2
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Channel Layout: FL,FR
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Frames        : 512
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Frame Samples : 1024
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG:   Frame Size    : 8
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - Using speaker layout: 2.0
04:23:27 T:140681139398400   DEBUG: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - Internal Buffer Size: 4096
04:23:27 T:140681139398400    INFO: CAESinkALSA - ALSA: pcm_hw.c:587:(snd_pcm_hw_start) SNDRV_PCM_IOCTL_START failed (-32): Broken pipe

on bug tracker i found only this issue: http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/13246 - but it's closed (since 1 month) and i use a actual nightly
I have the same problem.
find quote
b0ssman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #560
I Just got my new AV Reciever so that i can bitstream my blu rays from xbmc.

However i got the following Problem:

The ELD information from my Reciever (Sony STR-DH520) seem to be incomplete

Code:
eld_valid               1
monitor_name            SONY AVAMP

connection_type         HDMI
eld_version             [0x2] CEA-861D or below
edid_version            [0x3] CEA-861-B, C or D
manufacture_id          0xd94d
product_id              0x2702
port_id                 0x20000
support_hdcp            0
support_ai              0
audio_sync_delay        0
speakers                [0xffff] FL/FR LFE FC RL/RR RC FLC/FRC RLC/RRC FLW/FRW FLH/FRH TC FCH
sad_count               0

this causes xbmc to assuome that the reciever cant do dts-hd ma etc...

Code:
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:     Device 4
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:         m_deviceName      : hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:         m_displayName     : HDA NVidia
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:         m_displayNameExtra: SNY SONY AVAMP on HDMI
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:         m_deviceType      : AE_DEVTYPE_HDMI
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:         m_channels        : FL,FR
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:         m_sampleRates     : 32000,44100,48000
16:57:40 T:3016268416  NOTICE:         m_dataFormats     : AE_FMT_S16NE,AE_FMT_S16LE

If i play a file that contains hd audio its stuttering

however if i add these lines to the eld info it works

Code:
echo sad0_rates 0x1ee0 > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1
echo speakers 0x4f > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1
echo sad0_channels 8 > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1
echo sad0_bits 0xe0000 > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1

i cant find a way in openelec to issue those commands (autoexec.sh is not working since /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1 is not present at that time)

so my question is: Is there a way to tell xbmc to ignore the eld information and assume that my reciever is capable to dts-hd ma etc that i configured in the passthrough settings
find quote
ingrimsch Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #561
I have no real OpenELEC experience, but you should be able to include a little loop into that autoexec.sh script, that waits until the sound card is ready. I have no way to test this on an OpenELEC right now, but try adding this to the end of your autoexec.sh:

Code:
while [ ! -f "/proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1" ]     # sleep for 2 seconds while file not there, then check again
do
  sleep 2
done

echo sad0_rates 0x1ee0 > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1
echo speakers 0x4f > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1
echo sad0_channels 8 > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1
echo sad0_bits 0xe0000 > /proc/asound/card1/eld#0.1

I don´t think there is a way for XBMC to completely ignore the ELD information - at least I haven´t seen one yet.
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-19 14:09 by ingrimsch.)
find quote
ncorrare Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #562
Guys,
I've been getting this GUI freeze randomly when I switch channel / radio using XBMC-PVR (latest git). I think I narrowed it to the Frequency of the Audio changing (maybe?)

I finally caught was able to caught it in the log for you guys to be able to check.
Log is on: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=11014&mode=raw

After that the only way to get the interface responding again is to restart XBMC.
I posted a similar issue, but with TV on:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=143128

I thought this might be due to the GUI trying to play a null audio, since I had disabled the GUI sounds from Appearence instead than from the Audio Settings. Now is disabled on both and the error still persists.
find quote
rat666 Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #563
(2012-10-13 13:44)krip Wrote:  
(2012-10-11 21:02)rat666 Wrote:  
(2012-10-11 08:43)krip Wrote:  Hi Rat666,

I posted about a similar issue to yours (post #417 in this thread), but so far didnt receive any feedback.

My setup is fairly similar to yours: SPDIF from xbmc pc to rotel RSP1066 receiver. I also experience drop outs when playing -some- FLAC files. Reading your post made me wonder if the problematic files might be HDCD encoded but Im not sure how to tell (they seem to include some +/- db settings when comparing to flac files that work. Is this HDCD?).

I noticed I can play back the problematic files without dropouts if I switch the receiver from 2 channel stereo to 5 channel stereo. Maybe you can test this on your setup?

Hi Krip,

the dropouts occur only when the Rotel is switching between HDCD and PCM 2 CH, the came frome the Rotel.
i have no Dropouts during the Playback of a normal (non HDCD coded) Track, sometimes i have some little pops (like with a scratched cd in a cd player) and in some cases i noticed a distortion. it sounds a little like my old overdriven recorded Crome Tapes when i was 15 jears old.

Changing the Speaker from 5.1 to 2.0 has no effect in my Case.

i also had the RSP 1066 and it can decode HDCD like my 1069, so it should show HDCD in the Display when you stream a HDCD coded Flac.
If you need a HDCD Sample File, i can provide you one via my Dropbox.

I thing AE doesn´t give a bitidentical Stream to the Rotel. Without ReplayGain it is almost bitidentical (it seams to have only an "incorrect bit" every few seconds, that makes the Rotel change from HDCD to PCM). With ReplayGain enabled it never switches to HDCD and the Sound is different to the sound from my Oppo Player (to be honest, the oppo sounds clearly better then XBMC AE with SPDIF or HDMI when ReplayGain is enabled).

Hi Rat666,

With more testing I now confirm the same issue as you. My problematic flac files are all HDCD encoded. On the rotel rsp1066 switching to 5-channel stereo disables hdcd decoding as per the manual, and then hdcd encoded flacs play ok, but in 2 channel stereo mode they suffer dropout every few seconds.
i´ve done some tests with r12195 and im shure that the HDCD Problem has something to do with the Preamp Level Setting.
if Premap Level is set to 89db (gained and ungained) the Rotel switches between HDCD and PCM with ReplayGain on or Off, with another db setting the Rotel switches only when ReplayGain is set to off.

In my Eyes the ungained Preamp Level is a strange Setting witch is not necessary. Why can´t AE without ReplayGain simply let the Bitstream pass untouched to the HDMI or SPDIF/Toslink Port?
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-21 00:01 by rat666.)
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,349
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #564
This is still a problem, its across platforms and it still exists in current git

see this topic http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=138139

There's logs from several ppl in there.

TIA

uNi
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-03 11:25 by uNiversal.)
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,349
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #565
Very reassuring, not a single developer feedback on a serious AE bug like the discontinuity issue.

uNi
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 10,942
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #566
Stop crying. You could be aware that we only have AE devs which are MIA.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,349
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #567
thx for the information. Sleepy

uNi
find quote
sej7278 Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #568
how are people packaging this as xbmc-packaging on github hasn't been updated in 4 months and is still for eden, which it seems the ubuntu/debian packages are still based on.

i'm compling from git just fine, but i'd like to create a .deb package so i don't need a development environment on every machine (and i could compile on my core-i5 desktop rather than atom htpc!)

anyone got any instructions?
find quote
Roman_V_M Offline
Fan
Posts: 548
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Post: #569
(2012-11-06 01:04)sej7278 Wrote:  how are people packaging this as xbmc-packaging on github hasn't been updated in 4 months and is still for eden, which it seems the ubuntu/debian packages are still based on.

i'm compling from git just fine, but i'd like to create a .deb package so i don't need a development environment on every machine (and i could compile on my core-i5 desktop rather than atom htpc!)

anyone got any instructions?

Google checkinstall. Though you may still need to install dependencies.

AMD A4-3300 + AsRock A75M-ITX
XBMC-DSplayer 13.1 (custom build) on Windows 7
find quote
sej7278 Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #570
(2012-11-06 01:25)Roman_V_M Wrote:  
(2012-11-06 01:04)sej7278 Wrote:  how are people packaging this as xbmc-packaging on github hasn't been updated in 4 months and is still for eden, which it seems the ubuntu/debian packages are still based on.

i'm compling from git just fine, but i'd like to create a .deb package so i don't need a development environment on every machine (and i could compile on my core-i5 desktop rather than atom htpc!)

anyone got any instructions?

Google checkinstall. Though you may still need to install dependencies.

that's not how people are packaging xbmc for distribution. i already tried it anyway and it was useless as it can't cope with the brackets in the translation filenames:

Copying files to the temporary directory...tar: (Simple): Cannot stat: No such file or directory
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors
tar: (Simple): Cannot stat: No such file or directory
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors
tar: (Simple): Cannot stat: No such file or directory
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-06 17:14 by sej7278.)
find quote
Post Reply