Harmoney 1100 Remote Help!

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mkohman Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hey Guys,

I have just purchased a Harmoney Remote 1100 which I will be receiving it next week sometime.. Just for heads up really.. Looking for a guide to help me out .. I basically want to be able to control my pc and xbmc from the remote.. like for example when I press "watch a movie, the tv, the av receiver and the pc turns on and xbmc loads straight away.. something like this.."

Is there a guide I can follow... I have never owned a smart remote so a little rusty on this topic.. I have an IR receiver from my microsoft MCE remote control so I may be able to use that for my pc.. please advise..
Many thanks.. Smile
find quote
htpc guy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,182
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Near St. Louis Mo
Post: #2
Its fairly strait forward once you install the logitech software. It will walk you through the process. There are guides in the forums as well. Basically you enter your devices into the logitech software and program your activities. The setup is easy for avr receivers, tv's bluray players etc but can be a bit awkward . Check here (windows tutorial)

How to use Git
| AMD Athlon II X3 Triple Core Processor 2.9 GHz |GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H Mobo 2GB DDR2 Ram | MSI N430GT |
| Logitec Harmony One Remote| 52" Sharp Aquos LED TV | Demon AVR-X1000 |
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #3
youtube can help u too Smile
find quote
htpc guy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,182
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Near St. Louis Mo
Post: #4
+1 for youtube. Always easier to follow by example.

How to use Git
| AMD Athlon II X3 Triple Core Processor 2.9 GHz |GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H Mobo 2GB DDR2 Ram | MSI N430GT |
| Logitec Harmony One Remote| 52" Sharp Aquos LED TV | Demon AVR-X1000 |
find quote
mkohman Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thanks .. any links? I am trying to setup my xbmc with the harmony 1100 I want it to be able to switch the pc on and off and load XBMC etc.. any ideas please?
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #6
there's no easy way to switch the pc on and off....
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=111310

as for programming your HARMONY for XBMC,
i strongly suggest you add as device ==> Microsoft MCE Keyboard

this way, using HARMONY DESKTOP SOFTWARE,
you have the INFO button on your remote
emulate like if you would press the 'I' key on your keyboard and so on...
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 19:36 by eskro.)
find quote
mkohman Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2012-04-28 18:22)eskro Wrote:  youtube can help u too Smile

(2012-04-28 18:31)htpc guy Wrote:  +1 for youtube. Always easier to follow by example.

(2012-05-04 19:36)eskro Wrote:  there's no easy way to switch the pc on and off....
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=111310

as for programming your HARMONY for XBMC,
i strongly suggest you add as device ==> Microsoft MCE Keyboard

this way, using HARMONY DESKTOP SOFTWARE,
you have the INFO button on your remote
emulate like if you would press the 'I' key on your keyboard and so on...

Thanks Dude,

I followed this guide: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=95063

and it now works perfectly.. I mapped a few keys to my taste by looking at this link http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Keyboard . I am using the IR device that came with my old MCE remote.. on my Harmony remote when I change the avticites for example from XBMC to wach TV the HTPC goes into sleep mode then wakes up again when I go back into Watch Movie with XBMC.. Very pleased with this setup.. The Harmony 1100 is an amazing remote.. I even customised the Hard buttons to my own taste Smile so far so good Smile thanks for everyones support and advice.. Smile
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-05 11:55 by mkohman.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #8
FTW mkohman!!
find quote