Windows - Use Apple IR remote in Windows?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Kissell Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 3
Post: #1
I love XBMC and have been using it with Linux. However, now I'm trying to install it on a friend's Windows 7 computer setup exactly like I have mine.

I always use a generic USB IR adapter for RC6 remotes such as the Microsoft Remote, and I get this working in Linux with Lirc.

I'm completely lost about how to use this in Windows.

I found some registry hacks for the microsoft remote, but they don't seem to work with my apple remote.

Every apple remote sends a unique key combo.. so the LEFT button shows up as a different code for each remote and in linux I'm able to run a program to see what that code is, then map it.

Anyone got any ideas how I can get my remote working in XBMC in Windows? I do see the USB IR adapter as "Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver" in Device Manager... so Windows is getting my remote's key presses... I just don't know how to tell XBMC what they are or what to do with them.

TIA
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,895
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 274
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
Google found this: http://uroscion.wordpress.com/2009/01/25...otewithpc/

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
Kissell Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 3
Post: #3
Thanks, I continued to search and found the same article. Installing IR Server Suite now... looks promising.
find quote
Kissell Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 3
Post: #4
Nope... I can't get IR Server Suite to work at all.

On Windows 7 x64 I go into Translator and try to set a new button for the system wide profile, and it just times out and doesn't see the remote button presses.

Windows has the driver loaded, and I see a red dot on the IR Receiver indicating it is receiving the signals... so the signals are getting to windows, but IR Server Suite isn't looking in the right place to find them.
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #5
I don't think an Apple remote is going to work with an eHome receiver. You'll need to use an eHome handset or a universal handset that has eHome emulation. See http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Usi...in_Windows for more info.
find quote