Audio keeps switching from optical out to HDMI
Hi all,

I have been using XBMC for a few months now, and have it doing pretty much everything I need it to do. I also use EyeTV and have my Harmony Remote switching nicely between them.

Up until the last few days everything seems to be working fine. But recently, anytime I switch between XBMC and EyeTV, the audio output of the system will switch from Optical out over to using the HDMI out.
My setup is: I have HDMI direct from 2011 mini (Intel integrated graphics) to my TV for vision only.
I also have SPDIF Optical connected directly to my Surround Audio Receiver.
Audio MIDI has been setup to send to Digital Out.
EyeTV is set to send to Digital Out (have also tried System Sound Out).
XBMC is set to Audio Output= Optical/Coax
Audio Output device = default (have also tried built-in and default)

It will work fine for a bit, but if I switch back to EyeTV, <speculation>it seems as if XBMC maybe keeps hold of the SPDIF port, so EyeTV has to fall back to the next option, which happens to be HDMI. </speculation> Then if I switch back to XBMC, that also seems to continue sending through HDMI.

I'm really not sure if anything has changed in my setup to cause this.
Has anyway experienced the same?
I've also tried a few different options in Audio MIDI setup, but nothing seems to fix it permanently.
When you switch to EyeTV, are you shutting down or minimizing XBMC ?
Macmini Server 2011 i7 Quad Core, OS 10.8.2, Amp Onkyo TX-SR308 USB WD drives 3x2TB TV Samsung Plasma 720p EyeTV Integration
There are only 10 kinds of people in this world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Hi activate,

No, I'm doing neither. Will just minimising XBMC allow EyeTV to take over the digital port? Or will I have to quit XBMC?

Thanks for the idea.
From my understanding...