Live TV doesn't work on Openelec [tvheadend server]

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 4.6 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
doveman2 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #16
Works fine with raspbmc. With OE I get spammed with "Could not connect" errors when I enable the tvheadendclient and I can't connect to IP:9981.
find quote
Flyby Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Doveman2 I donĀ“t know what version you use, but I tried the last two versions (Beta 3 and RC2) and I still get no live tv.
EPG is loading but no image and sound.
find quote
Jeilong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
I tried Raspbmc RC2 too and found SD channels (MPEG2) to be working consistently but it's not without issues:
- The aspect ratio is incorrect (forced to 4:3). A workaround is to manually set the aspect ration to 16:9.
- It seems to do some pre-playback stuff as seen by the play/pause/play/pause changes in the top-right corner. It takes about 2-3 seconds before playback starts. Note that this is mostly a usability issue. When you are flicking through channels you don't want to wait 3 seconds before the playback starts.

HD channels are still black screen for me.

Note: RC2 uses the Tvheadend add-on 1.6.6 whereas OpenELEC betas use 1.6.4. Maybe try to update OpenELEC to 1.6.6?
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-04 13:51 by Jeilong.)
find quote
Kamol Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
I also have this issue.
Server running on RPi and I can access epg, channel list etc from both pc and said RPi but playback works only on my windows PC and on RPi there is only a blank screen. On tvheadend system log there are no issues listed, everything looks fine - by that I mean that RPi is supposed to be playing.
find quote
Flyby Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
I tried OE 3 RC1 (2.99.1) with same result This one uses TVHeadend version 1.6.10.
I also red in this forum that there is a problem with Frodo RC2 and TVHeadend.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=149826
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-04 16:53 by Flyby.)
find quote
spin-dizzy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #21
(2012-12-17 15:47)gimli Wrote:  tvheadend doesn't work due a decoder bug in the RPi firmware. You can use vdr as a temporary solution.

Has this been reported to RasPi? I can't find an issue on github for it. Is there anywhere I can track progress on it?

Why does it work with VDR, but not tvheadend?
find quote
popcornmix Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,742
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 66
Post: #22
(2013-01-05 03:50)spin-dizzy Wrote:  Has this been reported to RasPi? I can't find an issue on github for it. Is there anywhere I can track progress on it?

Have you tried a recent build?
A failing file was captured by gimli and this has been fixed. There have been a number of success reports in Raspbmc form.
find quote
opdenkamp Offline
Team-XBMC PVR Developer
Posts: 2,219
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 29
Location: Heerlen, The Netherlands
Post: #23
it still failed last week. i'll rebuild an image from the current master and verify

opdenkamp / dushmaniac

xbmc-pvr [Eden-PVR builds] [now included in mainline XBMC, so no more source link here :)]
personal website: [link]

Found a problem with PVR? Report it on Trac, under "PVR - core components". Please attach the full debug log.

If you like my work, please consider donating to me and/or Team XBMC.
find quote
Nemphys Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
@popconrmix: which fix are you referring to?
Please post a link so that I know if I have already tried it and not spend time on a new build.
Thanx
find quote
spin-dizzy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #25
(2013-01-05 13:33)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2013-01-05 03:50)spin-dizzy Wrote:  Has this been reported to RasPi? I can't find an issue on github for it. Is there anywhere I can track progress on it?

Have you tried a recent build?
A failing file was captured by gimli and this has been fixed. There have been a number of success reports in Raspbmc form.

I'm using OpenElec RC1 which was released January 3rd.
find quote
gipo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
I have same black screen issues with HD mpeg4 tv channels. My SD mpeg4 channels are fine. Raspbmc RC2, tvheadend 1.6.6; HD channels play fine on windows laptop
find quote
ntadej Offline
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 6
Location: Slovenia
Post: #27
OpenELEC 3 RC1, no luck with either SD or HD mpeg4 channels.
find quote
easyhugo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
Hi

update to Openelec 2.99.1 no luck same behaver as bevor some tv are working and some not
update Tvheadend to 3.2.34 no luck with channel hooping
tv settings changend to 1280x720 same problem
find quote
Nemphys Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Right, I still ge the same results with all Openelec versions I have tried (even compiled one with the latest and greatest xbmc and pvr-addons).
It is definitely an rpi thing, either omxplayer bug or firmware/kernel/network bug.
Would be very grateful if someone took a serious look at this, it is quite frustrating...
find quote
regnets Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Post: #30
same thing here
find quote
Post Reply