Integrate XBMC into AVR ?
Merging a HTPC and AV amp

<rant>
Ive been using (budget) HTPCs on and off for over 10 years now. Currently Im using a recycled PC running XBMC connected straight to my TV through HDMI. I also use a proprietary cable box from my local cable provider. Since neither of these devices truly supports CEC (other than turning on/off), its a bit of a remote control hassle. I contemplated buying a Harmony to fix the problem, but I know other household members will use the specific remotes and cause the harmony to get “unsyched”. As I see it, Harmonys are a decent attempt to fix a problem that shouldnt exist. Anyway, I could get around with 2 remotes, since the cable box remote also allows limited control over the TV.

Until I bought a new tv; the built in speakers where absolutely aweful (shame on you Phillips), so I decided to attach a decent audio system based on a AV receiver. Thats were the problem truly began. Ive bumped my head in to every conceivable problem, such as the HTPC dropping HDMI audio when switching tv inputs, forcing me to use SPDIF, requiring yet another remote to control volume. Problems with audio/video sync. Problems with the receiver not supporting certain audio codecs (like AAC 5,1), problems with CEC not allowing control when the tv was turned off, etc, etc.

Now I have a degree in ICT and generally Im a gadget freak; if Im finding it hard to find the right equipment to buy, set this all up properly and use it, how will joe 6 pack ever manage?
He wont.
</rant>