[RELEASE] Check previous episode

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Lucleonhart Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Information  [RELEASE] Check previous episode
Post: #1
Hey there.
I did not find any addon which has this functionality, so i coded it myself. It is my first addon, so i am eagerly awaiting your responses! Smile

So, what does it do?
Good question. It runs when you start playing a tv show episode and checks the previous episode of that show.
If it is not available, it stops the playback and displays a warning.
If it is available but unwatched, it displays another warning.

... okay... and what is is good for
It is especially made for the new "ondeck" feature.
Imagine the following: You have watched Dexter S4E1 until E6. That was two weeks ago.
Now your ondeck feature tells you: New Dexter Episode! E8!
I totally do not know which the last watched episode was, so i am starting it...

That's my script for! Smile

Sounds nice. Where do i get it?
It is available at the official addon repo, go grab it within xbmc from the "services" category!
Requirements: Frodo! Smile

If you have any issues, feel free to post here. ^_^

Screen
[Image: screen1.PNG]
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-30 11:30 by Lucleonhart.)
find quote
bornagainpengui Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #2
This is a great idea! It could have really come in hand when I was getting Heroes for the family a few years ago and missed nearly half of a season thinking that it had ended early and all of us were lost at the beginning of the new season and I kept on waiting for a flashback to catch us up until I finally googled it and discovered my error. This would have saved me a lot of headaches..

That said I have a bit of a...well not sure that bug is the word, the service is doing exactly what it's supposed to do. I have PseudoTV installed as well as this service and it goes nuts because of all the shows we have that are unwatched. Trying to channel surf results in constant popups while changing channels and selecting not to watch the episode kills the PseudoTV program. Is there any way to code and exception for PseudoTV so the service disables itself while PseudoTV is running?

Thanks!
find quote
phil65 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,455
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 60
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #3
nice idea. what i would suggest is putting the script name inside the dialog. i can imagine that lot of users who install addons without paying attention won´t know how to disable this again since it probably feels like a core feature.
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-01 22:29 by phil65.)
find quote
Hitcher Online
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,627
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 91
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #4
Might be worth seeing if you could make this a patch for the Skin Widgets addon.
find quote
Marco275 Offline
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Netherlands
Post: #5
Did install this.. but uninstalled it again after a few..
The popup gets a little annoying if you tend to delete the watched episode before watching a new one.
So please if you integrate this in skin widgets, make it optional.

thnx
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-05 11:11 by Marco275.)
find quote
Hitcher Online
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,627
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 91
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #6
If you delete an episode before watching the next then the new one wont get picked up by Skin Widgets!
find quote
Kathar Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Great work, this is really useful! I can't count the amount of times I've accidentally skipped episodes.

An issue I've noticed with this though is that when using external players, the player still loads and starts to play the file, despite not having clicked yes/no from the prompt yet. Is there any way this could be fixed?

Either way, cool addon, thanks!
find quote
ReducedToZero Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #8
Great idea this Nod It fits with how I'm using XBMC at the moment. I always go back and check that the episode I'm about to watch from recently added is the next in sequence (a little OCD perhaps Wink) so this'll bring peace of mind and far fewer clicks.

Thanks Smile

'Zero

-----
XBMC Frodo | XBMCbuntu (+ OSX / Windows 7 on a MacMini) | nbox 1.0 | Maraschino Git | xbmcremote 1-04 | XSqueeze
-----
On a long enough timeline. The survival rate for everyone drops to zero.
find quote
ConfusedTA Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 8
Location: England
Post: #9
Great add-on - so simple Smile
find quote
tential Offline
Fan
Posts: 451
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 10
Post: #10
I wish there was just an addon that would scan every season of every series I have on my library and tell me which episodes are missing. This works well though too.
find quote
Lucleonhart Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #11
Hi all, thanks for your kind words! I totally missed checking my own thread here.
So about the script, i just updated it with support for the transifex system so the popup will be localized in the future! *yay*

I need to install the pseudoTV addon for myself, have no use for it myself, so i will check how i can add an exception for it! Thanks for the mention.
Same for external player. Will check how to detect it.

I am not participating in the skin widgets plugin, but i think my plugin works great with it. You get the "next episode to watch" from skin widgets and if one is missing it will tell you.

So, if you have any other ideas, post them here! Smile
Oh yes, and the script is available via the official addon repo!
find quote
tomtomclub Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Frown unfortunately 0.2.0 is not available for download , i remove 0,1,0 , and the new one does nothingFrown

rasberry pi fredo on bord
(This post was last modified: 2013-06-01 15:55 by tomtomclub.)
find quote
Lucleonhart Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #13
(2013-06-01 15:54)tomtomclub Wrote:  Frown unfortunately 0.2.0 is not available for download , i remove 0,1,0 , and the new one does nothingFrown

rasberry pi fredo on bord
Hey there! You are right, something seems to be broken in the repo. Sad I contacted the repo admins for the error. Until it is fixed i uploaded the script to my dropbox: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6451...pisode.zip
find quote
tomtomclub Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
(2013-06-01 21:18)Lucleonhart Wrote:  
(2013-06-01 15:54)tomtomclub Wrote:  Frown unfortunately 0.2.0 is not available for download , i remove 0,1,0 , and the new one does nothingFrown

rasberry pi fredo on bord
Hey there! You are right, something seems to be broken in the repo. Sad I contacted the repo admins for the error. Until it is fixed i uploaded the script to my dropbox: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6451...pisode.zip


thanx you i I really miss it I take him out of your dropbox :
(This post was last modified: 2013-06-02 16:30 by tomtomclub.)
find quote
bluenote Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 288
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Hi, that dropbox link is broken for me, can anyone else confirm
find quote
Post Reply