Solved Issue - [Workaround] Support for picons channel logos

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi, I switched to vnsi from xvdr, since vnsi looks more stable meanwhile and fernet menta is doing a great job.
Only thing I am missing, is channel logos, like it is supported in xvdr.

PIcons can be downloaded here:http://ocram.github.com/picons/downloads.html

Instead of matchin channel names, unique references are used, to find the correct channel logo. Details are described here: https://github.com/pipelka/xbmc-addon-xvdr/issues/70

It would be nice, if either vnsi or the pvr part of xbmc in general would support those icons, because we would get maintained icons that will be added automatically to the correct channel.

Thanks,
Jobe
(This post was last modified: 2013-02-15 10:08 by jobe.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,681
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 55
Location: Munich
Post: #2
I'll put this on my looong list of to-dos Smile
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
That´s bad, so I have to figure out the correct names for files by hand :-(
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,681
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 55
Location: Munich
Post: #4
What's more important, perfect playback or nice looking icons?
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 2,681
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 55
Location: Munich
Post: #5
I did not say no but there's some other tasks with higher prio.
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2013-02-07 16:17)FernetMenta Wrote:  What's more important, perfect playback or nice looking icons?

Aeh, ok, Perfect Playback is more important I guess Blush
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Ok, for those who would like to use picons and do not want to figure around with file names or add the icons manually. Here is a workaround based on turkbas picon scripts (https://github.com/tkurbad/piconscripts)

Here is what you need to do:
  1. Downlaod picons (see initial post for the url) and save them to your vdr server
  2. Download attached python script and store it on your vdr server
  3. run the script the following way: python piconlinks.py -p /path/to/picons_dir -c /path/to/channels.conf >& create_links.sh
  4. change the directory to your picons directory and run the created "create_links.sh" script.


The python file creates the reference number for picons out of your entries in the channels.conf file. This reference numbers are used to find the correct *.png file for each channel. Having that in place a shell script is created that contains the instructions for creating the necessary links, so that the name of the icon files match your entries in channels.conf.

Note: This is a real quick and dirty hack, based on the existing piconscripts package, but it does the trick for me. Only thing currently not working is channel names with utf8 characters, but these should be very rear.

Hope someone else can use it too.

Kind regards,
Jobe

Edit: Link to the python script: https://github.com/jobe39/piconscripts/b...onlinks.py
(This post was last modified: 2013-02-09 00:21 by jobe.)
find quote
te36 Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Ok, thanks. Python script ran fine... but now i don't know how to put that picon directry into by XBMC tree and/or if i need to fixup some xml config file so it will get used!

Thanks
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I am not in front of my computer. You should find it under Settings->Live TV. There you can set the dir for channel icons.
find quote
te36 Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Works like a charm. Thanks.
You may want to change the subject of this thread to somethng like "[solved with workaround]"
find quote
hfmls Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
so...after i run create_links.sh what else should i do?

[Image: benfica_sempre_logo_by_juniorneves-d4dqzjp.png]
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Set the directory for tv icons in your xbmc settings, section live tv. Set it to the directory where you have downloaded the picons and run the script. Then you should have the icons for your channels in xbmc (maybe a few of them are missing).
find quote
eroxm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Just tried this and it worked for a few icons, but many of them are missing, especially the ones for the HD channels, when there's a corresponding SD channel (e.g. Sky Cinema / Sky Cinema HD). Do I have to add them manually or can the script be altered to recognize these too? Or did I do something wrong?
find quote
eroxm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I solved the issue myself by downloading a new version of one of the icon packs from http://picons.bitbucket.org/downloads.html, I choosed shd.transparent-white.tar.bz2, which fits good together with the Confluence skin. The script doesn't work for the latest version of the icon packs, because they changed the directory structure in the archives. I'm not a programmer guy, so I couldn't alter the script to work, but I found a workaround. The script expects the symlink png files containing the PID etc. to be in the same directoy like the actual png files. So I copied the PNGs to the main folder containing the symlinks (I used a command like for i in `find . -name *.png`; do cp $i /home/xbmc/picons/iconpack; done; since the files are in subfolder like a, b, c, and so on) and after doing that, the piconlinks.py script went through. The resulting create_links.sh expects the actual PNG files to be in the subfolders where they were after unpacking, so after running create_links.sh, I removed the PNGs again from the main dir and moved the "old" symlinks to another sub dir, in case I need to update the files.
find quote