Linux prebuilt HTPC/BOX installed with linux OS running XBMC.
Hi im new to this an could do with your help and advise please

Im planning on setting up a prebuilt HTPC/BOX installed with linux OS running XBMC.

Heres what im after from the set up...

* 1080p HD smooth play back (MKV'S mainly) from an external HDrive but from a NAS in the future.
* XBMC to run butter smooth
* Near Silent/quiet box

for the box I have got it down to a choice of the two ZOTAC boxes below, which will do the job best and give me the perfomance im after with regards to CPU,chipset and onboard video etc?

Is NVIDiA or AMD the way to go, or are both as capable as each other?

http://www.zotacusa.com/zbox-ad04-plus.html

http://www.zotacusa.com/zbox-id80.html

As I only want this to boot XBMC for use soley as HTPC/BOX, which linux OS would be best?
I would like something faily light weight that runs XBMC butter smooth and requires no further tweaks after initial set up.

Additional advice and tips welcome!

PLEASE HELP! Thanks guys!
nvidia is the way to go, full stop, no competition!

xbmcbuntu should give you what you need. openelec is also favoured by many, but you can experiment with both and see what you like.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
(2013-03-09, 09:57)nickr Wrote: nvidia is the way to go, full stop, no competition!

Hi thanks for your quick reply!

So its definitley the Nvidia I take it. Ha

So with regards to the box,
I should go with the ZBOX ID80 then? http://www.zotacusa.com/zbox-id80.html
rather than the ZBOX AD04 http://www.zotacusa.com/zbox-ad04-plus.html

Are you sure this will meet all my HTPC needs which I stated in my previous post?
Does any one else have a zotac zbox? are thet any good?