TESTERS WANTED: XBMC pre-v12.2 testing

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,326
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 221
Location: Arizona, USA
Bug  TESTERS WANTED: XBMC pre-v12.2 testing
Post: #1
Testing is over! Thanks for everyone who helped. Feel free to keep reporting about additional issues in new threads. We might even do a v12.3.



While these are test builds for a bugfix version, they are still test builds and are not yet considered stable. Proceed with caution and always backup your userdata folder!

What is this:
  • These are test builds for anyone who would like to help with testing the upcoming XBMC v12.2 bugfix release.
  • No new features have been added to this version.
  • Only bug fixes have gone in.
  • v12.2 is a work in progress and bug fixes are still being pulled in, so you'll see it being referred to as pre-v12.2 or 12.2pre, etc.
The main aim of this thread is to help make sure that no new bugs have accidentally slipped in as a result of the other bug fixes.

Where to download:
Test builds can be found here: http://mirrors.xbmc.org/test-builds/ (use the latest build for your OS that has "Frodo" in the file name) or see the links below:


Latest test build: 30 April 2013 (this will be updated as new test builds are made available)

The splash screen will still say "v12.1", but the system info screen should report this as v12.2pre

How to help:
  1. If something was working in v12.0 or v12.1 and is now broken in pre-v12.2: This is the main thing we want to know about. Please include in your post:
    • Was this broken in v12.1
    • A debug log
    • The build date (in the download URL or in system info on XBMC)
    • Details about your system (OS, hardware specs, etc)
    • Steps needed to reproduce the issue (play a movie, go to a file list, use an add-on, etc)
    • The more details, the better.
  2. If something was broken in v12.0 or v12.1 and is now fixed in pre-v12.2: feel free to post about that. Confirmation is always nice.
  3. If something was broken in v12.0 and is still broken in pre-v12.2: please do not report it in this thread unless it's something we specifically asked to be tested. Report those bugs/issues in a new thread.

Keep testing:
More bug fixes are being pulled in, so we want to make sure things continue to work as they're pulled in, so check back for newer builds and keep testing!



As always, a huge thanks to all our testers for helping make XBMC better for everyone!
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-03 03:17 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,326
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 221
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
Other stuff:

What's been fixed (changelog):

Other notes:
  • Linux users: We have Ubuntu builds now for pre-v12.2 testing!
  • Still asking around for other distros, but until then, those that know how to compile can already join in the testing by building from the Frodo branch: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/tree/Frodo
  • MySQL users: pre-v12.2 is compatible with v12.0 and v12.1, as there have been no database version changes.
  • Mac OS X users: if the 64-bit version of a test build doesn't work, please also try the 32-bit version, and give us feedback on both.
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-24 10:32 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,326
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 221
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #3
reserved
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-24 10:31 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
WelshPaul Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: English Countryside
Post: #4
Hi Ned - I'm sure this is a stupid question (which probably means I'm not the best person to be testing but what the hey) but is there a setting to have the debug log running but without the on-screen information? I've installed the test package for ATV2 and set the log running but at the top I get the path, mem usage and cpu status showing. Can't work out how to turn it off. Searches for debug tend to bring a lot of results to plough through.

Thanks
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,326
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 221
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #5
Create a plain text file called advancedsettings.xml and save it in your userdata folder with the following:

Code:
<advancedsettings>
     <loglevel>1</loglevel>
</advancedsettings>

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Add-on:YouTube]] = Add-on:YouTube, [[Adding videos to the library]] = Adding videos to the library, [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,326
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 221
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #6
10 April 2013 test builds should now be ready.
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-11 08:21 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
salora Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Hello, as i don't want to report something that is not relevant.
Can we expect xbmc to play dolby digital plus with the pre-testing ?
Thank you
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,306
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 154
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #8
(2013-04-11 08:07)salora Wrote:  Hello, as i don't want to report something that is not relevant.
Can we expect xbmc to play dolby digital plus with the pre-testing ?
Thank you

no

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
richeerichhh Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Still get random crashes using OS X x64 version. On a iMac 12,2. Mountain Lion 10.8.2. Using an Aggregate Device to get Analog 5.1.

Heres the debug log
http://pastebin.ca/2355480

This was the Build.
XBMC (12.2-PRE Git:20130409-cf8a307)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,326
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 221
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #10
(2013-04-11 08:44)richeerichhh Wrote:  Still get random crashes using OS X x64 version. On a iMac 12,2. Mountain Lion 10.8.2. Using an Aggregate Device to get Analog 5.1.

Heres the debug log
http://pastebin.ca/2355480

This was the Build.
XBMC (12.2-PRE Git:20130409-cf8a307)

Is this an issue on the 32 bit version? Was this an issue also in v12.0?

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Add-on:YouTube]] = Add-on:YouTube, [[Adding videos to the library]] = Adding videos to the library, [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
salora Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
OK thank you
find quote
mazkolain Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 13
Post: #12
Don't know if addon api issues should also be reported here, but here is my contribution anyway:

I'm experiencing crashes on Python when using the xbmc.Monitor class. It happens when the script is run through the RunScript() builtin, called from another script.

Full report:
http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/14265
find quote
Pyromaniac Offline
Donor
Posts: 157
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany
Post: #13
And as always, Linux is orphaned... Rolleyes
find quote
Seven_PRX Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
For me, under Win8 x64, this build causes display errors when playing a movie, and opening the contol panel.
With that I mean the bar at the bottom where you have your back, rewind, play etc buttons.

This is caused by small black horizontal bars appearing on screen, at the bottom and at the top.
They go over the controls, and also over the played movie.

When I close the controls, the black bars disappear again. And it's only with those controls/situation,
nowhere else do the bars suddenly appear.

It happens in both fullscreen, and windowed mode. Using a box with Intel HD Graphics 4000, with the latest drivers.
find quote
PatrickBateman Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,677
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 17
Location: Another Earth
Post: #15
(2013-04-11 20:30)Seven_PRX Wrote:  For me, under Win8 x64, this build causes display errors when playing a movie, and opening the contol panel.
With that I mean the bar at the bottom where you have your back, rewind, play etc buttons.

This is caused by small black horizontal bars appearing on screen, at the bottom and at the top.
They go over the controls, and also over the played movie.

When I close the controls, the black bars disappear again. And it's only with those controls/situation,
nowhere else do the bars suddenly appear.

It happens in both fullscreen, and windowed mode. Using a box with Intel HD Graphics 4000, with the latest drivers.

I think that might be a driver issue and not xbmc, worth testing both just in case Wink

Intel.com forums
http://communities.intel.com/thread/38686

xbmc.org
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=161855
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-11 21:21 by PatrickBateman.)
find quote
Post Reply