GSOC Advice
Hello,

My name is Lars and I am a second year uni student studying software engineering. I have known about the Google summer of code for sometime and this year I thought I would jump in and give it a try. I am really looking forward to learning how to code in a more professional environment, than simple uni assignments etc. I am also very much looking forward to be able to have a mentor that can guide me along, rather than be thrown off the deep end. Since this is my first time attempting the Gsoc I am a bit lost, hence this post.

As it is I am very interested in XMBC and have used your software before and would love to work on the project. If possible i lean towards working on the "Improved database layout" or any internal C++ , but am happy to work on anything. The primary programming language i am skilled in is C/C++ but i also have a basic to intermediate understanding of HTML/CSS, JavaScript, SQL and VB.Net.

I guess what this is a request as to whether you would have anything leaning toward my skill set that i would be able to work on as my Gsoc project? If not i would very happy to learn a new skill, programming language, tools etc., in order to work on the project, given that its possible to learn, with a bit of extra work, in the time frame of the Gsoc?

Thank you for your help.
Lars

P.s. I have looked thought the proposals and liked, "Improved database layout","Improved remote clients for tablet/touch devices" and any of the "extend skinning engine" proposals, but i thought i should ask here first for the communities advice.

Extra contact details;
Email: [email protected]
Have you looked at the XBMC codebase at all?

If you're interested in database layout and the like, one potential suggestion would be to get started by taking a look at the current layout and perhaps making a minor change to the existing layout.