EDL support in VNSI

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ursli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #16
(2013-11-14 22:17)FernetMenta Wrote:  you don't need any vdr plugin for this. if you have a file named marks in the recordings folder, it will be opened. you should see debug logs stating that scene markers were added. Note there is no default key mapping for nextscene/previousscene

http://www.vdr-wiki.de/wiki/index.php/Vdr%285%29#MARKS

Thanks for the info, I've used the plugin because it can create a marks file with minimal footprint while I record, which makes sense I guess.

In the meantime I've tried the feature with both a marks file created by the plugin and one manually created by me according to the vdr wiki. Sadly it does not seem to work, debug is telling me "Ignoring entry of type SCENE"


Marks file content:

Code:
00:13:09.31
00:54:09.31
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-15 13:08 by ursli.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,135
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 62
Location: Munich
Post: #17
Then you don't run current master of xbmc. I had to patch this too.

https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/3632
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-15 10:11 by FernetMenta.)
find quote
ursli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #18
Aah, I didn't know that, my build is indeed one day too old it seems. Thanks for taking the time.
find quote
charlie0440 Offline
Fan
Posts: 388
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #19
@fernetmenta not sure what Im doing wrong

I have a recording with this mark file (manually made):
0:03:08.23 detected logo start (4722)*
0:10:18.25 detected logo stop (15474)
0:15:18.01 detected logo start (22950)*
0:22:21.22 detected logo stop (42546)
0:25:20.20 detected logo start (50019)*
0:26:06.25 detected logo stop (58674)

When I play the recording back it just plays normally ie no skipping.
cat /var/log/syslog | grep vdr | tail -100 > http://pastebin.com/C3MrzzGw
cat /var/log/syslog | grep vnsi | tail -100 > http://pastebin.com/Cq0VhEVt
xbmc debug log > http://sprunge.us/WVJL

The xbmc log shows the scene markers, do I have to enable something to have the scenes skipped

Edit: Is it just a case of adding a keymap for the nextScene/previousScene? How do you know when one is coming up other then viewing the mark file, pressing "o" just shows the total I believe?

Guide to building an all in one Ubuntu Server - TV(vdr),File,Music,Web

Server Fractal Designs Define XL, Asus P5QL/EPU, Dual Core E5200, 4gb, L4M-Twin S2 v6.2, Supermicro AOC-USAS-L8I, 1*SSD & 13*HDD drives (24TB total) - Ubuntu Server
XBMC 1 ASRock Z77E-ITX, G850, 8GB RAM, SSD, BD - Ubuntu / OpenElec frodo
XBMC 2 Revo 3700 - OpenElec frodo
XBMC 3 Raspb Pi
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-16 20:37 by charlie0440.)
find quote
ursli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #20
Yes, commercials do not get auto skipped, it's basically like a chapter mark. You need to setup the nextscene/prevscene buttons and then manually switch. Which is the correct thing to do I guess, since automated commercial detection isn't always working as well as it should.
find quote
charlie0440 Offline
Fan
Posts: 388
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #21
as I suspected from my edit above and confirmed by ursli, once added the keymaps it works a treat. Would be nice if xbmc could notify of an approaching EDL mark and perhaps its length (time to the next one).

@fernetmenta Great work as always

Guide to building an all in one Ubuntu Server - TV(vdr),File,Music,Web

Server Fractal Designs Define XL, Asus P5QL/EPU, Dual Core E5200, 4gb, L4M-Twin S2 v6.2, Supermicro AOC-USAS-L8I, 1*SSD & 13*HDD drives (24TB total) - Ubuntu Server
XBMC 1 ASRock Z77E-ITX, G850, 8GB RAM, SSD, BD - Ubuntu / OpenElec frodo
XBMC 2 Revo 3700 - OpenElec frodo
XBMC 3 Raspb Pi
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,135
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 62
Location: Munich
Post: #22
i could not find any documentation about the comments of the marks.

Quote:0:03:08.23 detected logo start (4722)*
0:10:18.25 detected logo stop (15474)
0:15:18.01 detected logo start (22950)*
0:22:21.22 detected logo stop (42546)
0:25:20.20 detected logo start (50019)*
0:26:06.25 detected logo stop (58674)

is this documented and some kind of standard? if so it would be easy to create cut marks and auto skip commercials.
find quote
ursli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #23
Those are the comments the vdr addon "markad" is producing. (At least they look the same on my end)

http://www.vdr-wiki.de/wiki/index.php/Markad

http://projects.vdr-developer.org/projects/plg-markad
find quote
charlie0440 Offline
Fan
Posts: 388
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #24
correct my markad uses the format and the comment is ignored, I too read that wiki page. Here is a marks file markad just made:

0:40:33.07 assuming start (60831)
1:05:14.20 aspectratio change from 16:9 to 4:3 (97869)*
1:07:13.15 assuming stop (100839)

Guide to building an all in one Ubuntu Server - TV(vdr),File,Music,Web

Server Fractal Designs Define XL, Asus P5QL/EPU, Dual Core E5200, 4gb, L4M-Twin S2 v6.2, Supermicro AOC-USAS-L8I, 1*SSD & 13*HDD drives (24TB total) - Ubuntu Server
XBMC 1 ASRock Z77E-ITX, G850, 8GB RAM, SSD, BD - Ubuntu / OpenElec frodo
XBMC 2 Revo 3700 - OpenElec frodo
XBMC 3 Raspb Pi
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,135
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 62
Location: Munich
Post: #25
What is the rule here? Looking for "start" or "stop" and cut between those marks? Or make keywords configurable?
find quote
ursli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #26
As far as I know "assuming start" means it's not sure if the scheduled recording really starts here but the EPG said it would, so it assumes it starts at the right time since it couldn't make sure because no logo/aspect/ac3 channel change was found.

As an example a more complicated one where it finds the TV Channel logo and calculates commercial breaks like that. It detects the logo, assumes this is where the scheduled show starts, can't detect the logo any more, assumes there is a commercial break and so fort.

Code:
0:09:40.21 detected logo start (14520)*
0:34:27.14 overlap before 53103, moved to 51688
0:49:47.10 overlap after 70999, moved to 74684
1:14:37.11 detected logo stop (111935)
1:25:55.13 detected logo start (128887)*
1:31:23.22 detected logo stop (137096)
1:33:06.11 detected logo start (139660)*
2:33:12.13 overlap before 232565, moved to 229812
2:49:42.14 overlap after 248815, moved to 254563
3:06:48.24 detected logo stop (280223)
3:15:31.13 detected logo start (293287)*
3:32:18.21 detected logo stop (318470)
3:32:49.18 detected logo start (319242)*
3:44:43.20 detected logo stop (337094)
3:56:18.01 detected logo start (354450)*
4:38:26.03 detected logo stop (417652)

I am not sure if the whole thing is reliable enough to automatically cut the commercials out, it sometimes is a bit error prone with barely visible logos or when logos start moving.
find quote
charlie0440 Offline
Fan
Posts: 388
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #27
I agree with ursli, its not very accurate.

Ideally I would just like an option (maybe on the client specific PVR page) which would allow me to enable a pop up which states when an EDL occurs so for example, xbmc detected an EDL, a pop up appears saying "EDL detected, skip to next EDL marker (3mins:24secs)", then I could press the "NextScene" button.

Don't know if that is at all possible, its not a big deal. I would much prefer you worked on the timeshift buffers, allowing us to see how far behind live TV we are for example Wink

Guide to building an all in one Ubuntu Server - TV(vdr),File,Music,Web

Server Fractal Designs Define XL, Asus P5QL/EPU, Dual Core E5200, 4gb, L4M-Twin S2 v6.2, Supermicro AOC-USAS-L8I, 1*SSD & 13*HDD drives (24TB total) - Ubuntu Server
XBMC 1 ASRock Z77E-ITX, G850, 8GB RAM, SSD, BD - Ubuntu / OpenElec frodo
XBMC 2 Revo 3700 - OpenElec frodo
XBMC 3 Raspb Pi
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-19 23:33 by charlie0440.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,135
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 62
Location: Munich
Post: #28
Quote:I would much prefer you worked on the timeshift buffers, allowing us to see how far behind live TV we are for example

We need skinners for this. The info is there, just needs to be displayed by the skin. The progress bar does already observe playing time.
find quote
charlie0440 Offline
Fan
Posts: 388
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #29
(2013-11-19 23:32)charlie0440 Wrote:  I agree with ursli, its not very accurate.

I'm going to retract that statement.

Using HD channels where the audio codec changes, markad works perfectly, and thanks to fernetMenta xbmc for TV recording is awesome!
Snippet from an HD markad:

0:00:52.05 audio channel change from 2 to 6 (1304)*
0:13:15.22 audio channel change from 6 to 2 (19896)
0:17:23.06 audio channel change from 2 to 6 (26080)*
0:35:12.13 audio channel change from 6 to 2 (52812)
0:39:19.06 audio channel change from 2 to 6 (58980)*
0:50:39.14 audio channel change from 6 to 2 (75988)
0:54:46.03 audio channel change from 2 to 6 (82152)*
1:07:44.01 audio channel change from 6 to 2 (101600)
1:09:25.24 stop of recording (104148)

Using SD channels not so well.

Guide to building an all in one Ubuntu Server - TV(vdr),File,Music,Web

Server Fractal Designs Define XL, Asus P5QL/EPU, Dual Core E5200, 4gb, L4M-Twin S2 v6.2, Supermicro AOC-USAS-L8I, 1*SSD & 13*HDD drives (24TB total) - Ubuntu Server
XBMC 1 ASRock Z77E-ITX, G850, 8GB RAM, SSD, BD - Ubuntu / OpenElec frodo
XBMC 2 Revo 3700 - OpenElec frodo
XBMC 3 Raspb Pi
find quote
JokoFacile Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
I am really happy to read about the EDL support.
Is it possible to SET cut marks using the XBMC/VNSI Interface?
I currently seem to be running VNSI Server3 and still figuring out to get VNSI Server5 running.
Setting marks, not only using them, would be the last (and killer) feature for me to get the VDR server out of the living room and leave only the xvmc there.

Thanks for any answers ...
find quote