[Release] Keymap Editor (configure remote in GUI)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
takoi Offline
Fan
Posts: 596
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 7
Location: Norway
Post: #1
For configuring buttons in GUI by selecting action and pressing them.

[Image: U84xB1t.png]

[Image: hQ7pebH.png]

Current limitations:
-No way to assign different keys to different inputs. (No sure if worth the trouble implementing)
-No detecting if a key is used multiple times. What will most likely happen is that one of actions will be executed.
-Depending on what was previously assigned, xbmc might execute the old action i background when pressing the new key to assign.

If you find any actions missing, let me know in this thread!

Install from official add-on repository.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-10 15:44 by takoi.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,195
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 217
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
Looks very awesome. Unfortunately, I can't seem to get it to work :(

I get a script error whenever I try to open it.

XBMC v12.2
Mac OS X10.8.4

Log file with a fresh install of XBMC and only the Keymap Editor add-on installed (outside of defaults, that is):
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=55845

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Add-on:YouTube]] = Add-on:YouTube, [[Adding videos to the library]] = Adding videos to the library, [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-07 09:59 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
takoi Offline
Fan
Posts: 596
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 7
Location: Norway
Post: #3
Ouch. Not working with python26 apparently. Oh you OS X and your old versions! I'll find a replacement for that class and update. Thanks for reporting
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,195
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 217
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #4
Shouldn't that not matter for XBMC? XBMC for Mac OS X doesn't use external Python. Frodo's internal Python is what is limited to 2.6.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Add-on:YouTube]] = Add-on:YouTube, [[Adding videos to the library]] = Adding videos to the library, [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
Myster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Got same problem with script error but i am on Win7 and latest official XBMC
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-08 13:40 by Myster.)
find quote
takoi Offline
Fan
Posts: 596
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 7
Location: Norway
Post: #6
(2013-09-08 05:36)Ned Scott Wrote:  Shouldn't that not matter for XBMC? XBMC for Mac OS X doesn't use external Python. Frodo's internal Python is what is limited to 2.6.
Not sure what you mean.. On both my linux computer and my openelec box xbmc has always been using python 2.7 so I never noticed, or even though about others having 2.6.
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-08 15:11 by takoi.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,241
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 153
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #7
not all OS versions use the same.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
takoi Offline
Fan
Posts: 596
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 7
Location: Norway
Post: #8
Yeah, I get that now
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-08 15:17 by takoi.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,195
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 217
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #9
Oh you linux-based OSes and your external system-wide libraries :)

Funny thing is that I actually have Python 2.7 installed, but XBMC for Mac OS X can't (?) be compiled to use external libraries.

In the meantime, I'll check it out on my linux HTPCs. Still very awesome to finally have a GUI for keymapping!

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Add-on:YouTube]] = Add-on:YouTube, [[Adding videos to the library]] = Adding videos to the library, [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-08 20:46 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
spyder Offline
Fan
Posts: 332
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #10
I hope you get this working, a 'GUI click to map' keymap editor is long overdue. Will this advance to the next item after mapping a key?(so there is no 'down' button overwrites).
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,195
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 217
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #11
With the update I can confirm that it works very well. I can also confirm that the issue is Python compatibility with XBMC's internal 2.6, since I've already updated to Python 2.7 on my copy of OS X ;)

Excellent add-on!

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Add-on:YouTube]] = Add-on:YouTube, [[Adding videos to the library]] = Adding videos to the library, [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
spyder Offline
Fan
Posts: 332
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #12
I can also confirm it is working great(W7). I did have a problem when mapping the wrong function and trying to clear it.(kept getting a script error) I had a copy of my keyboard.XML file so I was able to go back, any way to add a backup/restore? I was wondering how many options would be available to map keys, and when I got into the menus I was a little overwhelmed(looks like a lot of keys are redundant/unused though)
find quote
Marx1 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #13
I used it in debian and works very good
find quote
curlyjs Offline
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Hi,

I tried it and it's really cool, should be there in the settings by default. Ned, is this something that could be pushed?

One feature that I couldn't find "System.LogOff", I used to map this to one button to switch between my two libraries. Now I've mapped to XBMC restart, but it's not quite the same and takes a bit more time. There could be an option to manually add something.

Thanks,

JS
find quote
T800 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 979
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #15
It tried this this morning on a Pivos Linux and set the 'OK' to pause/play. After I did this the 'OK' wouldn't work to access anything even on the home screen. How do I restore the button? Can I delete the keymap folder in userdata and restart the box?

Living Room i3 • W7 Ultimate x64 • 120GB SSD • HD 7750 • 2x TBS8922 tuners • Aeon Nox 4.0
Bedroom A6 3500 • W7 Ultimate x64 • 40GB SSD • HD 6550 • Aeon Nox 4.0
Servers unRAID server for Movies (22TB) • unRAID server for TV Shows/Music (11TB)
HTPC http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=99831
unRAID Server http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=106786
find quote
Post Reply