Solved Issue - XBMC Audio Mixer does not change volume

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
styx06 Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have downloaded the add-on XBMC Audio Mixer to control system volume via the GUI, however changing the volume sliders for either setting (PCM, Master etc) does not result in any change in volume.
Shouldn't it impact overall system volume and thus lowevering volume levels of XBMC also?

This is how my asound.conf looks like:

Code:
pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer  {
        type dmix
        ipc_key 1024
        slave {
                pcm "hw:0,8"
                period_time 0
                period_size 1024
                buffer_size 4096
                rate 44100
        }
        bindings {
                0 0
                1 1
        }
}

ctl.dmixer {
        type hw
        card 0
}
(This post was last modified: 2013-08-08 21:52 by styx06.)
find quote
styx06 Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I did some further testing: I opened Alsamixer on a remote SSH connection and than changed settings via XBMC Audio Mixer. Result was that the corresponding volume bars in the Alsamixer did change, but still without effect on the overall volume.
find quote
styx06 Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Solved by defining the softvol plugin for Alsa. I have now as channel HDMI_volume with which I can change the overall software volume.
find quote
Dam0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 440
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
seems you linux guys get all the cool toys firstTongue

do you know of a similar product for winblows?

Thx,
D.
find quote