Feature Request - Asus C8HM70-I/HDMI, DTS HD + Dolby HD ?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello folks,

just one simple question:

Does this Mainboard support DTS HD and Dolby HD ? Which Version is supported on HDMI , 1.2 oder 1.4 ?

Greetings
ssj3rd
find quote
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
No one ?
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-14 17:55 by ssj3rd.)
find quote
p750mmx Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Netherlands
Post: #3
No patience?
find quote
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
You´re right , i will wait until the answer arrives :-)
find quote
p750mmx Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Netherlands
Post: #5
HD audio will be no problem (when using the HDMI connection), HDMI will be at least 1.3.
There is no need for 1.4 because the GPU of the Celeron doesn't support Full (Real) HD 3D, stereoscopic 3D it does and that goes well with HDMI 1.3.
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-15 18:35 by p750mmx.)
find quote
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Are you sure about HDMI 1.3 ? 3D is not important to me , what matters is the DTS HD support.

Kind regards
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-15 18:44 by ssj3rd.)
find quote
p750mmx Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Netherlands
Post: #7
I have this board myself for several months now, but I didn't take the extra time to work it in to a complete setup, the reason for that is the sound the CPU fan makes. I know one could replace the fan but I have never made time for that. So I put is aside and forget about it. I could set it up to a complete system to see what the audio playback options would be, but I haven't got the time for that at this moment. I saw the reason why you want to know the answers to you questions with such a hurry but I can't help you with that on this moment, not on so short notice.
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,561
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 85
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #8
Yes, the Intel HD GPU supports DTS-HD/Dolby True-HD. It has since Clarkdale. The Celeron 847 comes with the Intel HD2000 GPU, same as in the Sandy Bridge i3. It just doesn't have Full 3D support like the i3 so it's probably more akin to the GPU in the Sandy Bridge Celeron/Pentium CPUs, which all support HD audio bitstreaming.
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-16 17:33 by Dougie Fresh.)
find quote
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Like i said , 3D is not important for me. My TV doesn't support it. The important thing is about the Sound.
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-17 10:12 by ssj3rd.)
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,561
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 85
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #10
I think the sound question has been answered.
find quote
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
The board arrives tomorrow, i will post here the result. I´m doubtful, but i´m willing to learn something new :-)
find quote
p750mmx Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Netherlands
Post: #12
Don't forget that Bitstream HD audio runs by the Intel 847 and not by the Realtek ALC887-VD audio chip, but you will notice that yourself I guess.
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-18 15:22 by p750mmx.)
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,561
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 85
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #13
If you're not going to believe anything anyone posts, why bother to ask?
find quote
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Im doubtful because i got other Informations on other Sites. Some People say that the Intel 847 supports Bitstream HD Audio but the Mainboard only offers HDMI 1.2.
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-18 19:08 by ssj3rd.)
find quote
ssj3rd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Ok i have tested it with the newest Intel HD Graphics Driver, and it DOESENT support DTS HD !!

WTF ?!
find quote
Post Reply