XBMC 12.2.with T&A DAC8

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Krischan_HH Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi everybody!

I have a question regarding XBMC 12.2 using Ubuntu 13.04 with the T&A DAC8 connected via USB to my HTPC. The DAC8 is a high-end digital-to-analogue converter
and Ubuntu detected it as two soundcards. With aplay -l the DAC is recognized as "card 0 device 0" and "card 1 device 1"
XBMC is using card 0 but there are some distortions when playing HD-FLAC files and therefore T&A recommends using card 1 device 1.
How can I tell XBMC to use card 1 device 1?

Regards,
Krischan
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,110
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
Does it not show up in audio settings?

How about a debug log?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-18 11:54 by nickr.)
find quote
Krischan_HH Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Hi Nickr,

The DAC is recognized by XBMC and I can select the T&A device under audio settings, but the shown device is the wrong device (card 0 device 0) and T&A recommends
the card 1 device 1. In the XBMC logfile you can see the T&A device with the wrong number. May be it has something to do with ALSA but I'm not quite sure.

Krischan
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,110
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
Can you post the debug log to pastebin and post the link here?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Krischan_HH Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Sorry, not possible due to the fact that I had the DAC8 only for one day. I am thinking over to buy me this DAC and in case of need I will connect via SPD/IF.
find quote
Krischan_HH Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Is it possible to assign the audio output from XBMC to a native hardware device which is in the aplay -L list, similar to other audioplayers like daphile, gmusicbrowser, DeaDBeef etc...
for instance like "hw:1,1"

Regards,
Krischan
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-27 20:42 by Krischan_HH.)
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,110
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #7
Why don't you post the damn debug log.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Krischan_HH Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Ok, ok here is the damned xbmc.log Big Grin http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=102628
Device 5 and 6 is my T+A DAC but you can see that xbmc uses only "DEV=0" but DEV0 produces distortions. Thats why T+A recommends using DEV1.

Thats my aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC898 Analog [ALC898 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC898 Digital [ALC898 Digital]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Device [T+A USB Audio Device], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Device [T+A USB Audio Device], device 1: USB Audio [USB Audio #1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

And all I want is to use "USB Audio #1"

You can see it in advancedsettings.xml (displayed in xbmc.log). I tried to define the audiooutput. But nothing happened
<audiodevice>ALSA:hw:CARD=Device,DEV=1</audiodevice>
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-28 13:34 by Krischan_HH.)
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,110
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #9
One thing to try: set hw:1,1 as default alsa device using asound.conf.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,943
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 140
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #10
Quote:card 1: Device [T+A USB Audio Device], device 1: USB Audio [USB Audio #1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

That's the one with the spdif in name.

m_deviceName : iec958:CARD=Device,DEV=0
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-29 00:52 by fritsch.)
find quote
Krischan_HH Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
This iec958 device produces the distortions due to the fact that this is device 0 and not 1.
find quote