localhost works but IP doesn't
Hi I am Trying to ust the PVR functionality with the myth pligin.

I have set up the cards ( Hauppauge PVR-500 ) and everything works! (finally Smile) I have it working in myth frontend.

In the XBMC plugin when I use " localhost " it works , however when I change it to the IP address of the computer it gives me a " cannot connect to myth backend error"

I have checked to make sure i am using the correct IP address and that I have the same IP address in the backend setup under general settings for both the local and master backend options.

I have the log file here:

http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=112415

I feel like it is an permissions problem but I am not very good at interpreting the logs, any help would be appreciated.

I have also tried using a different computer but it has the same result ( although I havn't recorded a log file )

Thanks Again
anybody?, any ideas on were to start?. Everything works fine with local host but as soon as I put in the IP address it stops working the log file says " can't connect to Mythtv database @ "my IP address" with user.
This is usually a mysql setup issue.

I'll try and post a fix when I am home this evening and able to access a working setup.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
(2014-01-19, 00:25)Nieboy Wrote: In the XBMC plugin when I use " localhost " it works , however when I change it to the IP address of the computer it gives me a " cannot connect to myth backend error"

I have checked to make sure i am using the correct IP address and that I have the same IP address in the backend setup under general settings for both the local and master backend options.

Two things spring to mind:
1. You may need to tell mysql to allow access from external ip addresses. IIRC it is the bind-address setting in my.cnf