Raspberry PI my best option for a small box?
Hello everyone, I'm very new to XBMC and would like to give it a go.

I'm looking for something just for watching live TV. Mostly some daytime TV talk shows and live sports. Streaming live NBA, MLB, NHL games from around the country that I don't get on my local channels. If I can get PPV events streamed that would be a bonus. Most likely will have to connect to the internet wirelessly.

Basically...
  • Stream live sports
  • Connect to internet wirelessly
  • Small/ compact
  • Decent video quality (I guess for my case it depends on the stream? Are most stream quality decent?
  • Playing media from home is not needed at all. I just want something to stream live TV.

Off google I have stumbled on something called the Raspberry PI. I'm very illiterate when it comes to computers but I assume if I get something like that, I just follow their setup guide, install XBMC on it and we're good to go?

Are their any similar devices like the Raspberry PI? Is there anything faster that shares a similar small size? I'd really like it to be pretty fast when switching menus, apps and all that. Delays and waiting while going through menus is something I can't stand. I hope these can have zippy fast interfaces and be a compact size, please tell me I can get both =p and not need a laptop / pc rig.

That's all for now, just want to see my options for these boxes and work from there. Will be browsing this sub forum to see if I stumble on any information that might be applicable.

Thanks, Stephen.
Yes the Raspberry Pi will do everything you want. I recommend the most recent version of openelec. You'll need to buy like $10 of accessories as well as the pi, not really that big a deal.
I liked the RAPi, until i wanted to watch hugh fullHD files. But over all it is smooth and working.

Beside the hardware you also need to buy the codec, otherwise you will have a problem watching SD.